cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection speed taken a dive

charlesroper
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-08-2016

Connection speed taken a dive

My router lost connection a couple of times in the last day or so, and now the BT Wholesale speed checker is saying my IP profile is 17.8Mbps. It was previously stable at around the ~30Mbps and has been for some time. Nothing has changed in the house.

Do I just need to wait to see if the IP profile resets? Do I need to do anything (like restart my router after so many days)?

5 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Connection speed taken a dive

It looks like there were quite a number of disconnections yesterday which are suggesting something was wrong/is wrong with the line:

image15100656636632

However I've just tested the line and it seems the profile has already increased again, with the line now connecting at 35Mb/s

 

How's it performing now?

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
charlesroper
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-08-2016

Re: Connection speed taken a dive

Hi Chris,

 

Yes, it says it's connected at 35Mbps on the router now - whew! Thanks for the graph of the disconnects. Looks like the line went through a very rough patch.

That said, running a speed test across a number of services, it would appear I am still rate limited for some reason. See attached and this speedtest.net result.

charlesroper
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-08-2016

Re: Connection speed taken a dive

It still won't go any faster than ~14 Mbps even though it's still connected at 35 Mbps and my IP profile is 33.88 Mbps. I've attached a screenshot of the BT speedtest.

charlesroper
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-08-2016

Re: Connection speed taken a dive

@Chris, I left it for a few days and I still couldn't get a speed test to go above 14 Mbps, even though it was saying it is connected at 35 Mbps. So today I restarted the router and, voila, it is still saying it's connected at 35 Mbps, but the speed tests are back to what I'd expect (~30-33 Mbps).

 

So it just needed a manual restart for some reason.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,766
Thanks: 2,287
Fixes: 385
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Connection speed taken a dive

I'm glad to hear you're up to speed now Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team