cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection intermittently awful - line check required

gjwilmoth
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Connection intermittently awful - line check required

I'm having real problem with my fibre broadband connection.  I seem to have relatively decent speeds of 20-50mb and a ping of around 15ms but I'm constantly getting booted out of programs that require a live connection (e.g. Netflix, Microsoft NAV, Zoom) suggesting that something is dropping.  

 

I'm 99% certain it's not the wifi as the laptops and phones i'm using have no problem connecting to the wifi during the drop outs.

 

I've had problems on the line before and i'd like someone to check if there are currently any problems on my line.

Tags (1)
15 REPLIES 15
ecrTech
Grafter
Posts: 65
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2014

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

Hi sometime VPN can-do that on Wi-Fi, see how it goes on wired

gjwilmoth
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

It's worse wired.  I have Devolo magic 2 powerline and I had to stop using it because the signal would drop out so often.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,649
Thanks: 5,170
Fixes: 1,295
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

Can you check in your router log when it happens again to see if the connection is actually dropping or not?
Something like network uptime in status, can't remember what it's exactly called in the hub one.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
ecrTech
Grafter
Posts: 65
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2014

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

Well than you need to factory reset your equipment, because they too get infected whether its TV box or fire stick

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,649
Thanks: 5,170
Fixes: 1,295
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

No they don't, that is not the default go to solution and infected with what? More FUD. Please stop.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
gjwilmoth
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

It says the uptime is 3 and half days.  It did reset itself during the bad weather a few days ago and I can't see anywhere to download a log. 

ecrTech
Grafter
Posts: 65
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2014

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

Go to troubleshooting  event log

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,649
Thanks: 5,170
Fixes: 1,295
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

Can you post your router stats from  'Troubleshooting' > 'Helpdesk'

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
ecrTech
Grafter
Posts: 65
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2014

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

there is no ( Advanced Settings > Technical log ) stop confusing others

gjwilmoth
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

It's Troubleshooting > Event log but there are a number of choices and you can't download the log as a file, so i'll have to copy and paste page by page (it's not all on one screen)

 

ALL

System

WAN

USB

NTP

Boot

GUI

Wire LAN

Wifi 

Port Fowarding

DHCP

Button Press

TR069

Firewall

DynDNS

 

Any of those I should put up? Do I need to redact any of the information for security?

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,649
Thanks: 5,170
Fixes: 1,295
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

what's under the 'Troubleshooting' > 'Helpdesk' page?
Don't post the serial number or username
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
gjwilmoth
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:  
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 Last updated 10/03/19
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 4 days, 02:39:44
6. Data rate: 19999 / 76344
7. Maximum data rate: 24561 / 91766
8. Noise margin: 8.4 / 7.1
9. Line attenuation: 11.4 / 12.6
10. Signal attenuation: 11.6 / 12.6
11. Data sent/received: 193.3 GB / 251.3 GB
12. Broadband username:  
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-HPM3
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Disabled
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-HPM3
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Disabled
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: 52
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: 3c:17:10:7e:29:d2
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,649
Thanks: 5,170
Fixes: 1,295
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

I'm a little jealous of those data rates.
Your connection speed is around 70mbps - so above what you are seeing. Which on wireless is possible.
Have your tried a speed test plugged directly into the router with an ethernet cable?

Your laptops aren't apple by any chance?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
gjwilmoth
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Re: Connection intermittently awful - line check required

Not Mac, Dell XPS 17 (2020).  

The frustrating thing is that I can't work out where the signal is being dropped, I think it's the fibre optic signal into the house but it could just as easily be wifi interference (sky Q)or a faulty router and I just want to rule out fibre optic before I start messing about with the wifi.

 

I've tried Netgear Orbi's and Devolo Magic 2 powerlines but both are unstable.