Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection dropping out & orange light flashing

FIXED
Toffee_efc
Dabbler
Fixes: 1

Connection dropping out & orange light flashing

Hi newbie here, I’ve been having problems with my router dropping connection randomly, the router will go from blue light to orange flashing light & normally take 5-10 mins to connect up again which is frustrating.

I only use the router with WiFi for a number of devices, MAC Laptop, Printer (WPS), TV, Sky Box (WPS) & iPhone/iPad.

I’ve tried moving the router box upstairs but has made no difference to the dropouts.

I’ve contacted plusnet & they have done a line check & said they can’t see any faults that would cause the problem but recommend sending an engineer out to investigate.

Can anyone suggest any setting changes that might be worth trying with the router or is there a firmware update that might help. It’s probably worth highlighting that I have moved from BT to Plusnet in the last 3 months & didn’t have this problem before.

Any suggestions or guidance would really be appreciated.
21 REPLIES 21
BD
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 86

Re: Connection dropping out & orange light flashing

Hi @Toffee_efc and welcome to the Community Forums.

I'm sorry to hear you're having connection issues and checking the graph below we can see there's certainly something out of place somewhere.

There's nothing highlighting as linked to these drops when testing your connection and line also and therefore we'd recommend running through some internal checks before we go down the route of raising a fault to our suppliers who will more than likely advise getting a engineer out to investigate further as you've mentioned.

I'd recommend starting with basic checks here