cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection Problem

apollo1
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 16-09-2007

Connection Problem

Hi
Last night my router showed the red light on "internet" on the normal techicolor router.
DSL light is green on openreach modem
Broadband light is green on router
Internet light is either red or off
Tried disconnect - reconnect in router
Tried restarting openreach modem and restarting the router
Any ideas?  Ticket raised on 104034831
Quite critical as connection used for business / university work
Thanks
9 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Our faults team will pick this up asap. Could you try logging in to the router and double checking that the username/password are entered correctly?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
apollo1
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 16-09-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Hi Chris
Thanks for your quick response, i have not changed the details on the router as it was setup with the automatic TR69 setup, could this change on its own?
I can check when i get home later.
Thanks
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Connection Problem

It shouldn't do, it was just a suggestion based on the symptoms of the Internet light not being green.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
apollo1
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 16-09-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Hi Chris
Could you post my connection graph so i can see if i have had disconnections over the past week and not noticed.
Thanks
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Sure, here it is:
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
apollo1
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 16-09-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Hi Chris
Connection worked fine after I tried after 6pm, I did a google search and it said on the BT business service status that there were BT infinity problems in my area and dialling code but couldn't see a plusnet outage notice
Also my speeds have increased, were connecting at 33-34mb now profile in plusnet shows 38.2 but line estimate is 29mb?
Estimated line speed:
29Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2015-04-21 14:53:29
Current line speed:
38.2 Mb
I did a BT speed test and the bar shows as red even though its a good speed, it that because it says 40-37mb instead of 37-40?   many months ago i could connect at 51mb
Shall i leave the ticket open?
Thanks
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Connection Problem

If you're now connected and not having any issues, then it's probably not worthwhile having the fault open at the moment. Obviously if the issue comes back just get in touch.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
apollo1
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 16-09-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Hi
Could someone plus post my line profile,
My speeds are really down from when i first had fibre, due to cross talk but i do have an ECI modem connected to a Huawei cabinet
Thanks in advance.
apollo1
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 16-09-2007

Re: Connection Problem

Hi
Could Plusnet please post my line profile, thanks
Also the BT checkers now shows new information "this line has jumpers in place" would this affect the speeds at all?