cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

sufctom
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

I recently bought a cheap/cheerful Polaroid 32" Smart TV and would like to utilise the smart part.  However, the TV flat refuses to connect wirelessly.  Wired is fine via Poweline adapters, but wirelessly it will not connect at all (and we even exchanged the TV as faulty today hoping a new wifi dongle would help).
The other way of configuring it through the TV is by entering static details; something I've never done and more to that something I am struggling to do in the management settings in the router (I find this part of the router cumbersome and disorganised).
How would I go about ascertaining the following information required to create a static connection:
IP ADDRESS:
SUBNET MASK:
DEFAULT GATEWAY:
DNS SERVER 1:
DNS SERVER 2:
BROADCSST ADDRESS:
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

192.168.1.30
255.255.255.0
192.168.1.254
212.159.6.9
212.159.6.10
192.168.0.255
try those
sufctom
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

Hi. Thanks for your help.  It hasn't worked and the USB stick connects to my sisters BT wifi absolutely fine.
How would I go about finding the relevant details listed above? Do I do this through my router or can it be by ipconfig in cmd prompt?
I've got to say, the supplied router by PlusNet would go some way to explaining why their service is so cheap.  It's awful to use the management console and looks like an external modem from 1994!  Although in its defence, the internet speed is brilliant (to everything else but said Telly)!
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

If you look at the results from ipconfig you will find that they are as 11110_110 has given (except the IP address obviously). The IP address he suggested is outside of the routers DHCP range so that is fine (you can use anything from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.63)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
gofaster
Rising Star
Posts: 367
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

Do you have a better description than "flat refuses to connect"
Does it show your wifi network SSID?
How do you enter your wifi password - is it in uppercase?
Are any error messages displayed?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,550
Thanks: 1,243
Fixes: 102
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Connecting to a SmartTV / Getting necessary connection details

Try changing the wireless encryption from 'WPA-PSK + WPA2-PSK' to 'WPA2-PSK':

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵