cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

Firion
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-07-2016

Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

Hi, I had work done today to upgrade to fibre but my speeds have not increased although the hub indicates i'm connected at the speeds i should be getting?

vdsl.JPG

 

I've tried to reset the router but download speeds have stayed the same. I'm still getting the same as previous adsl speeds?

9 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,802
Thanks: 817
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

Hi @Firion

Welcome to the forums.

I think you will find that Plusnet haven't increased your Plusnet Line Speed which you can find at https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed (Login Required)

To get it set correctly, it may be faster to either Phone or use Chat and ask for the "Plusnet Line Speed" to be set correctly.

Once that has been done, and you have verified it by using the link above, log onto your router, click "Disconnect", wait a minute and then click "Connect" to get the new speeds.

Firion
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-07-2016

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

Thank you SpendLessTime, I've just called them up to get the line speed changed. It's now showing 37Mb instead of 17Mb on that link. But I just did a speed test and it's just ever slightly faster than before. I've reset the router again to make sure but same results,  is this normal?

 

5486278062

 

 

 

 

supernoodles
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎18-07-2016

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

is your sync speed around 37? if so i had a similar issue where i was connected at around 40 but my speed tests etc were capped at 29 so i called in and they told me to turn off my router for 5 mins while they change something and then called me back and the issue was solved

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules

Firion
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-07-2016

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

Router shows I'm sync'd at 39770kpbs down, 1999kpbs up. So all seems ok there.  I'll have to call in again tomorrow if it doesn't resolve itself overnight :/

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,802
Thanks: 817
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

@Firion

No that doesn't sound correct especially after a router reboot/reset. You might want to try another speedtest site like ThinkBroadBand at http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html just to back up the Ookla results.

You have a good sync speed too so nothing should be limiting the download speed.

Plusnet like to see the result from the BTW Speedtest at http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/PerformanceTesterWS/diagnostics.do , just enter your phone number and click "Run Diagnotic Test". The last result is stored so that Plusnet can access it, good if it shows a slow line. It will return your BTW IP Profile as well as a speed test result and hopefully the IP Profile will be set correctly. If not then contact Plusnet in the morning. 

Firion
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-07-2016

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

I wasn't able to use the btspeedtest, results page shows

"No Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) services have been found at this address. Please check the postcode or use the Telephone Number or Service ID to conduct the test.
Click here to try again"

I've tried multiple times to make sure but same results. So something must be amiss here.

Here's the thinkbroadband results

1468874180717041055

I noticed the burst speed does reach my max line potential in the first couple seconds of the download, then it drops back down.

 Edit:editip.JPG

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,145
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

When you run the BTWholesale further diagnostics, you just enter your home phone number in the top box leaving the bottom two blank.
I'll also take a look into things tomorrow morning for you. 🙂
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
Firion
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-07-2016

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

It seems to have fixed itself after midnight, i'm now getting the correct speeds. Thanks for all the help everyone!
1468896096613107855

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,145
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: Connected to VDSL but still on ADSL speeds

Awesome, I'm glad that you're getting your fibre speeds now. I've been unable to locate your account, however my assumption is that your order hadn't possibly fully completed.

From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff