cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conflicting speed test results.

DunMcH22
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-07-2016

Conflicting speed test results.

Hi,

I recently upgraded to fibre extra and was curious to find my actual speed. My router (Netgear D70000) is line synced at 80/20.  Using either the Thinkbroadband or the Ookla tester gives me a result of 74/18 using a wired or wireless connection. I believe that this is well within the acceptable limits. However the BT wholesale speed test gives results of 28/16 or worse. Are the other two test results wrong?  And if so might I have a line problem. Or is the BT tester faulty? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Duncan.

9 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

Hi , the BT tester has been known not to work sometimes, but not to give spurious speeds .
When you have a fault PN ask you to test with BT as it saves the results for your line .
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
DunMcH22
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-07-2016

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

Thanks for the reply. When I was on ADSL the BT tester gave speeds that were higher than any of the others. But now that I have switched to Fibre the reverse is true. Please see attached for latest BT Test with further diagnostics.

 

Thanks,

Duncan

DunMcH22
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-07-2016

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

I might have solved the mystery. Having changed the browser used for the test from Firefox to Chrome, the BT test now gives similar figures to the other two. I wonder if it is something to do with "Flash" compatibility with Mac's.

 

Thanks,

Duncan.

tiffy
Rising Star
Posts: 120
Thanks: 18
Registered: 01-05-2009

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

Yes,

I have the same issues with BTW tester & Firefox, only started retatively recently along with the "Adobe Flash" warning message, I now use IE11 to run the tester and that works fine returning the expected results.

Definately appears to be a Firefox issue, see other recent thread on this topic.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

I have just done 2 tests one with FF 57 beta and one with MS Edge, both gave me same result as 59down and 12 up

TBH best result i have for a while but still short of my regular 72/17 i used to get

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
tiffy
Rising Star
Posts: 120
Thanks: 18
Registered: 01-05-2009

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

Yes,

I'am on the last official release of Firefox, 56.0 (32-bit) so if your speed tests are to expectation and the same as MS Edge then the issue may have been addressed with FF 57 beta ?

I am currently quite happy just to use IE11 for the BTW testing which does not seem to be effected.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,280
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

The BTW speedtest is working fine for me using Pale Moon x64.

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

Recently there has been several posts with speed drops , i wouldn't think  these people all use  Firefox  but its possible

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
tiffy
Rising Star
Posts: 120
Thanks: 18
Registered: 01-05-2009

Re: Conflicting speed test results.

Could well be a connection !

I never believed the DS speed result obtained on BTW tester using Firefox since the issue started, I have always used the TBB on screen speed monitor and it was very obvious that my DS data speed was normal during the test.
I also use the Sam Knows White Box performance monitor and this confirmed that my data throughput speeds were normal.