cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

karlhungus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-05-2013

Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hi,
Woke up this morning to no Broadband; OpenReach modem DSL light is occasionally flashing and sometimes off. Router web interface says "Concentrator Not Reachable". Was working fine at approx 10:30pm last nite.
Have powered the modem off and on, and then the router too. Made no difference. Have a ticket open, 83915791.
Could this be a stale connection, or does it need an Engineer "visit"?
Thanks,
Paul
17 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hi and good morning Paul.
Sorry to hear you're having an issue with the Concentrator Not Reachable". Can you please make sure that all the cables are connected as we're seeing no connection between your Modem and Cabinet?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
karlhungus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-05-2013

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Please tell me you're kidding with that response?
I'm at work at the moment, won't be able to check until tonight. When I checked this morning, there didn't appear to be anything loose.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Sorry if I've offended with my previous response.
I've drawn to this conclusion because of the output from the testing on your line:
"Openreach's modem at End User is not synchronised with the RDSLAM port." - It's quite feasible that a connection may have come loose. If we were to submit a Trouble Report to our suppliers, an engineer would be sent out, not something we would want to do there is a loose cable.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
karlhungus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-05-2013

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

>> an engineer would be sent out
Where would they be sent? The Exchange / Cabinet?
Seeing as it was fine last night (before I went to bed), I think a loose cable is unlikely. I've seen lots of other messages on this forum with the same problem, were they loose cables?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

The engineer would have been sent to the Cabinet.
Quote
Seeing as it was fine last night (before I went to bed), I think a loose cable is unlikely. I've seen lots of other messages on this forum with the same problem, were they loose cables?

No, but equally, they weren't reporting 'Not in Sync'. Historically there was a problem with timeouts which we have alleviated on our end so it's unlikely to be the same issue. You could potentially have a fault externally, but we're asking just to check from your end, to be sure before progressing to send out an engineer.
If you feel that it's definitely something external, you can raise a fault at http://faults.plus.net
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
karlhungus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-05-2013

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

No loose cables this morning; there is a ticket open, 83915791.
Paul
karlhungus
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 09-05-2013

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Have just got home and done the following:
Checked all cables - all are fine
Tried 2 spare Open reach modems - no good
Changed the DSL cable from master socket to modem - no good
Could someone please pick this up and run with it? See previous posts for ticket n mber thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Thanks for getting back to us.
When is the earliest date you can be available for an engineers visit? I have a date on the notes when you spoke to Faris for next week, but wondered if you could be available this week at all?
BT operate Monday - Friday and offer appointment slots between 8am-1pm and 1pm-6pm.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
NRV618
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 27-02-2012

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hi Chris,
I ended up with exactly the same issue (Concentrator not reachable) after the outage on Saturday, and am without internet still right now.  They have been running "tests" on my line for the last 2 and a half days now... is this normal.?
I have tried and done everything your colleagues have suggested without luck.  I just got off the phone and was told that it could yet be another 24 to 36 hours after I was told yesterday it would be another 24 hours.
Your help would be greatly appreciated..!
Cheers
Nelson
P.D. On a conversation with one of your colleagues he noticed that my Mum, to whom I had given one of my spare modems (without updating the modem with her PlusNet details "Still with my loggin details in it") had taken up my internet connection and that I needed to disconnect and update her modem with her details (Which I did).  Could it be that after the outage my Internet service was assigned to her  line instead of mine?Huh
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hi Nelson,
Sorry I haven't been able to respond to you in a timely fashion! Did you manage to get to the bottom of this?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
pnb10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-02-2013

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hi, I no have the same Concentrator not reachable.
Could someone look into it please.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,766
Thanks: 344
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Your connection was stuck on our end.
I've dropped it now and if you reboot the router you should connect
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
pnb10
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-02-2013

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.
Will reboot the router tonight & see if it connects.
Starky96
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 06-02-2015

Re: Concentrator Not Reachable - no connection (Fibre)

Hello, I currently have the same issue of concentrator not reachable, I'm hoping it's just the same problem as the fellow above, something being stuck on your end. Would appreciate a look into this.