cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coming back

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Coming back

My fibre broadband contract with another provider is about to end. Is it possible to switch to Plusnet's ADSL service and then upgrade to the fibre service, if so what would be the extra cost of doing this?

 

20 REPLIES 20
Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 799
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎23-01-2018

Re: Coming back

Hi npr@

 

Please contact our sales team during their working hours on:

 

0800 432 0080


8am - 8pm Monday to Friday 
9am - 7pm Saturday 
9am - 6pm Sunday

 

They will be able to advise you on cost and what options would be best for you.

 

Should Fibre be available at your premises it would be best to go straight to Fibre if that is the product you would like to take.

You are however, able to upgrade to Fibre services from ADSL.

 

Kind Regards

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Coming back

Contacted the sales team and I'm told to switch from my present supplier to Plusnets ADSL service will cost £19.99 / month + a £5 activation fee.

To then switch to Plusnet fibre will cost £34.98 / month (£10 / month more than the present offer price) with no activation fee. So if I switched after the first month it will cost me a extra £110 with no guarantee of achieving my objective of moving from a eci roadside cabinet to a huewei cabinet.

 

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,899
Thanks: 2,115
Fixes: 140
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Coming back

Doesn't your current contract revert to a rolling monthly one after the expiry, be at a higher monthly cost? If so, why not just wait a month and then swap?

How do you know your fibre cabinet is going to be swapped from eci to Huawei?

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Coming back

The new Hauwei fibre cabinet is already in place and is live, it's an addition not a replacement. Without some sort of intervention I'll be kept on the old ECI cabinet.

Tried BT Openreach without success.

Tried PN support when I was with them last year, they showed no interest even though I said I was willing to pay to be moved.

The reason I wish to move cabinets is my 0.5mbps upload speed. Yes I know there's no guarantee it will improve things but I'm sick of this miserable upstream speed and I'm willing to try anything within reason.

 

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,899
Thanks: 2,115
Fixes: 140
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Coming back

What evidence do you have that you will be swapped to the other cabinet if your line is temporarily disconnected from the ECI one? 

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,434
Thanks: 626
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Coming back

At least one other person has managed to get it done by switching back to ADSL for a short time.

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Coming back


@Baldrick1 wrote:

What evidence do you have that you will be swapped to the other cabinet if your line is temporarily disconnected from the ECI one? 


 

None, other than seeing it suggested on the net. The fact that moving to adsl will get my line disconnected from the fibre cabinet, it then gives me at least a 50 - 50 chance of switching cabinets when reconnected.

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 498
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2017

Re: Coming back

its a joke that u have to go all threw this just to try n get relocated to a cabinet closer to you there should be options to cater for this even if there was a charge ...just shows you were still not moving forward with anything ...good luck with the cabinet move fingers crossed for you m8

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,434
Thanks: 626
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Coming back

I don't think it's a closer cabinet, rather it's an additional cabinet at the same location for extra capacity. And of course all new cabinets are Huawei.

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 498
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2017

Re: Coming back

yeah which is 100x better than a eci cab .....typical bt installing cheap nasty eci cabs that dont do nothing apart from give you your sync speed ...least with Huawei cabs the technology is so future proof and advanced

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Coming back


@ejs wrote:

At least one other person has managed to get it done by switching back to ADSL for a short time.


 

I'll report back whether is works for me Wink

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Coming back

It worked, now on a Huawei roadside cabinet. Grin

 

DSLAM type / SW version:	BDCM:0xa48c (164.140) / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware:  	AnnexA version - A2pv6F039v.d26a
DSL mode:               	VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                 	Showtime
Uptime:                 	 8 hours 44 min 2 sec
Resyncs:                	4 (since 13 Apr 2019 07:17:46)
			
				Downstream	Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  	28.0		0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):	Not monitored		
Connection speed (kbps):	23312		1936

Funny Thumbs_Up

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 498
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2017

Re: Coming back

What speeds u actually syncing at can't see by them stats really
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Coming back

Downstream sync  23312 kbps  -- much the same as the ECI cabinet.

Upstream sync 1936 kbps -- almost 4 times faster than the ECI cabinet.

Improving my upstream sync was the main objective, G.inp should it be enabled is a bonus.