cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change of product confirmation?

loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Change of product confirmation?

I upgraded to fibre extra on the 16th may Monday and paid P+P for the router.

 

Can someone confirm that the upgrade is happening, as I haven't received any email confirmation of changes to my account?

I can see in user account that the router has been paid for but not yet ordered. The upgrade page told me I would be changed over on the Monday 23rd may.

 

Thanks for great service so far over the last 13 years or so....

pellatt2004

19 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 649
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 29
Registered: 17-10-2015

Re: Change of package confirmation?

Hi there, 

 

Looking into things your line is due to be upgraded on the 27th as this was the soonest engineer available to do the work, the router would have been ordered by our systems in a few days but to ensure it gets there in time I've ordered it out today.

 

 

Your package will change once the line is upgraded


 Paul Tarr
 Plusnet Network Operations
loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

That's great news, thank you for the swift response.

 

 

loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

Can I use the plusnet hub one with regular ADSL? before the fibre comes online?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 649
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 29
Registered: 17-10-2015

Re: Change of package confirmation?

Absolutely, personally I'd recommend it, gets your devices etc connected so no need to mess about on the day, can get straight to using the higher speeds.


 Paul Tarr
 Plusnet Network Operations
loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

Thanks Paul, much appreciated.

loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

I got a confirmation of product change this morning at 1.25am and I saw the openreach man outside my house and up by the cabinet today.

 

The account says the upgrade is complete,  I have the plusnet hub one router all setup and working. is there anything I need to do now?

speedtest is saying 17Mb down 1 Mb up.

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 15.31 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 17.78 Mbps

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.88Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

 

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,850
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Change of package confirmation?

It looks like the profile needs updating. 

Can you say what the estimated and current line speed is by following this link and logging in. https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

Thanks

NE

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

Phone exchange:CLIFFEEstimated line speed:80Mb (This may vary between 80Mb and 80Mb) - Checked on 2016-05-16 19:48:26Current line speed:80 Mb

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Change of package confirmation?

@loony

 

Might be worth a try of logging onto the router, click "Disconnect", wait a minute and press "Connect" to see if the Plusnet line speed is reflected in a new BTW Speedtest.

 

Out of interest, what speeds were you getting on ADSL?

 

Also I see earlier in this thread that the FTTC was not due to go live until the 27th as mentioned in post 2 by @Darkfire and as the Hub One is both ADSL and VDSL2 (FTTC) compatible so it may be operating as an ADSL device currently.

loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

Phone exchange:CLIFFEEstimated line speed:80Mb (This may vary between 80Mb and 80Mb) - Checked on 2016-05-16 19:48:26Current line speed:80 Mb

 

was getting and am still getting 17Mb down 1Mb up. its the confirmation email I got that made me expect to have the higher speeds today, if it goes live on the 27th that's no problem.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Change of package confirmation?

@loony

 

It's not unknown for the Plusnet provision system to get out of step with reality. Smiley

 

If you are really interested in looking at the Plusnet Hub One log file, I would expect you should be able to see the link starting up. If it is ADSL then the messages will mention PPPoA while FTTC would be PPPoE

loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

heres the log info

 

20:30:10, 23 May. <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< Limit of wan log >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
20:30:10, 23 May. (11316.680000) WAN operating mode is ADSL
20:30:10, 23 May. (11316.680000) Last WAN operating mode was ADSL
20:30:09, 23 May. (11315.350000) PPP IPCP Send Configuration ACK
20:30:09, 23 May. (11315.350000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration Request
20:30:09, 23 May. (11314.980000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration ACK
20:30:09, 23 May. (11314.970000) PPP IPCP Send Configuration Request
20:30:09, 23 May. (11314.960000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration NAK
20:30:09, 23 May. (11314.950000) PPP IPCP Send Configuration Request
20:30:07, 23 May. (11313.310000) PPPoA is up -​ VPI: 0, VCI: 38 Down Rate=20161Kbps, Up Rate=1099Kbps; SNR Margin Down=3.0dB, Up=7.0dB
   
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Change of package confirmation?

@loony

 

Yep I got it right, you're on ADSL for only a few more days (hopefully). When the line is switched, the Hub One should automatically sense it and reboot for FTTC.

 

When you see that has happened, please check again the Plusnet Line Speed just to ensure it hasn't been reset to ADSL speeds.

 

And then check daily for a week or two as sometimes it is reset back, just when you don't expect it to.

loony
Grafter
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Registered: 24-08-2007

Re: Change of package confirmation?

ok, thanks for your help.