cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot connect to specific domain

ChrisMK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 09-04-2016

Cannot connect to specific domain

I really don't understand what is happening here.

From last Thursday I cannot display https://access.ukie01.com (193.240.52.40) from any of my devices on my Plusnet account at home.
The address can be pinged and traced successfully.
I have no issues with any other sites.
If I switch off Wifi on my phone then I can display the page through my Vodafone service.
If I take my laptop to a non Plusnet connection I can connect.
This address is the main log in portal for our cloud based office server so the problem is seriously affecting me.
It is also used by thousands of others on a daily basis.

With Plusnet support, I have changed dns settings both on the router and network connection.
I've tried 3 different routers all with the same result.

I understand the ticket was passed to the networking department yesterday but I have heard nothing.

I've come across some other posts with similar problems affecting other sites in the past, but their eventual cause doesn't seem to reflect my problem. For instance, I don't have a fixed IP address.

Anyone got any thoughts please?

 

 

15 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,539
Thanks: 1,084
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

I can connect to the site through a VPN, but not on a PN connection - so it's not just you.

 

 

Will Moderate For Thanks
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,539
Thanks: 1,084
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

traceroute from PN shows

 

traceroute to access.ukie01.com (193.240.52.40), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254)  1.947 ms  0.949 ms  0.891 ms
 2  lo0.10.central10.pcl-bng02.plus.net (195.166.130.151)  16.841 ms  17.316 ms  17.768 ms
 3  irb.10.pcl-cr01.plus.net (84.93.249.81)  17.661 ms  17.631 ms
    irb.10.pcl-cr02.plus.net (84.93.249.82)  17.807 ms
 4  195.99.126.98 (195.99.126.98)  18.194 ms  18.263 ms  18.085 ms
 5  core4-te0-10-0-18.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.249.9)  18.216 ms
    core4-te0-9-0-21.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.249.143)  21.569 ms
    core4-te0-10-0-21.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.249.151)  18.643 ms
 6  213.137.183.100 (213.137.183.100)  18.100 ms
    213.137.183.96 (213.137.183.96)  17.394 ms
    213.137.183.100 (213.137.183.100)  17.419 ms
 7  10-1-1.ear2.london2.level3.net (212.187.139.177)  17.985 ms  18.491 ms  17.935 ms
 8  ae-225-3601.edge3.london15.level3.net (4.69.167.90)  18.526 ms
    ae-117-3503.edge3.london15.level3.net (4.69.167.82)  18.385 ms
    ae-227-3603.edge3.london15.level3.net (4.69.167.98)  18.382 ms
 9  ae-225-3601.edge3.london15.level3.net (4.69.167.90)  18.406 ms
    ae-115-3501.edge3.london15.level3.net (4.69.167.74)  18.656 ms
    ae-226-3602.edge3.london15.level3.net (4.69.167.94)  18.465 ms
10  gblx-level3-50g.london15.level3.net (4.68.110.158)  18.721 ms  18.869 ms  18.561 ms
11  * * *
Will Moderate For Thanks
ChrisMK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Thanks dvorak. I'm slightly comforted by the fact it isn't just me.
I know our Cloud services provider has had issues with clients using Plusnet. Indeed one of my colleagues had this same problem at the end of January but it was resoleved quickly - though nobody seems to know how!

My trace:

Tracing route to access.ukie01.com [193.240.52.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1    <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254
2    14 ms 10 ms 7 ms lo0-central10.ptn-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.193]
3      8 ms 8 ms 7 ms link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.140]
4      7 ms 8 ms 7 ms xe-8-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.116]
5      7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 195.99.126.138
6      9 ms 9 ms 9 ms core4-hu0-3-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [213.121.193.164]
7      8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 213.137.183.100
8      9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 10-1-1.ear2.London2.Level3.net [212.187.139.177]
9      9 ms 10 ms 8 ms ae-115-3501.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.74]
10    9 ms 8 ms 8 ms ae-115-3501.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.74]
11    9 ms 9 ms 8 ms gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net [4.68.110.158]
12  11 ms 9 ms 10 ms 162.97.147.162
13  16 ms 15 ms 18 ms 193.240.52.40

Trace complete.

ChrisMK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

I might try a  VPN as a short term solution.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,999
Thanks: 780
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Did you ever get to the bottom of this one @ChrisMK?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

ChrisMK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Thanks for the reply!

In my dreams.
This was the final response on April 19.

 

The diagnostics applied in this ticket represent the extent of the assistance we can provide for this issue if we have not already ascertained the cause. 

I am glad that you have sought further help through the community forums as you are far more likely to get a resolution for your issue there than through this support system. 

I would advise that if there are any requests for information on the forum you respond to the forum and not here, the two systems are independent of each other.

 

Very disappointing since it is clearly a Plusnet issue.
I have resolved the problem by taking out a VPN subscription with HotspotShield which instantly cured it.

I am now looking at a number of alternative providers and if I find a suitable one I will instigate a move away, both for me and my 4 referrals who I support.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,999
Thanks: 780
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Not that it's much consolation, but I can access the site OK and my traceroute takes a similar route to yours Huh

Tracing route to access.ukie01.com [193.240.52.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     4 ms     3 ms     3 ms  home.gateway [192.168.1.254]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4     8 ms     9 ms     8 ms  172.17.7.237
  5    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  172.17.11.230
  6    13 ms    12 ms    12 ms  be2.psb-ir01.plus.net [195.166.129.180]
  7    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  195.99.125.134
  8    13 ms    14 ms    12 ms  195.99.127.70
  9    12 ms    11 ms    13 ms  213.137.183.98
 10    25 ms    13 ms    12 ms  10-1-1.ear2.London2.Level3.net [212.187.139.177]
 11    13 ms    13 ms    12 ms  ae-118-3504.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.86]
 12    13 ms    13 ms    12 ms  ae-118-3504.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.86]
 13    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net [4.68.110.158]
 14    14 ms    14 ms    14 ms  162.97.147.162
 15    19 ms    19 ms    21 ms  193.240.52.40

Trace complete.

The next step I would have suggested is whether or not there's any correlation to the IP you're assigned and your ability to access the site.

Whilst I recognise it only seems to be affecting Plusnet customers, that doesn't necessarily mean it's a Plusnet issue.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Andrue
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

I could get to it from work but can't get to it via PN. Definitely needs some investigation I think.

Tracing route to access.ukie01.com [193.240.52.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254
2 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms lo0.16.Central16.pcl-bng01.plus.net [195.166.130
.210]
3 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms irb.15.pcl-cr01.plus.net [84.93.249.161]
4 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 195.99.126.96
5 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms core4-te0-12-0-18.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [109.159
.249.17]
6 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 213.137.183.96
7 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10-1-1.ear2.London2.Level3.net [212.187.139.177]

8 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms ae-225-3601.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.
90]
9 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ae-225-3601.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.
90]
10 11 ms 11 ms 10 ms gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net [4.68.110.15
8]
11 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 162.97.147.162
12 17 ms 15 ms 17 ms 193.240.52.40

Trace complete.

A different path from Bob (going out via BT as usual Smiley

ChrisMK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

BoI suppose I could ask for a different ip address to see if that is the issue, though I might have expected that to have been suggested already!

Andrue: thanks for that - could you post your failed Plusnet trace when you get a chance please and also your ip address (if it's not static).

 

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 510
Fixes: 37
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

I can tracert to it but it times out if I try to access it via my browser.

 

C:\Users\ian>tracert access.ukie01.com

Tracing route to access.ukie01.com [193.240.52.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms PNHUB1 [192.168.1.254]
2 14 ms 12 ms 12 ms lo0.11.central11.ptn-bng01.plus.net [195.166.128.229]
3 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms irb.11.PTW-CR01.plus.net [84.93.249.17]
4 13 ms 13 ms 24 ms 195.99.126.138
5 15 ms 14 ms 14 ms core4-hu0-3-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [213.121.193.164]
6 15 ms 14 ms 13 ms 213.137.183.98
7 14 ms 15 ms 14 ms 10-1-1.ear2.London2.Level3.net [212.187.139.177]
8 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms ae-227-3603.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.98]
9 17 ms 17 ms 16 ms ae-227-3603.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.98]
10 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net [4.68.110.158]
11 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 162.97.147.162
12 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms 193.240.52.40

Trace complete.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Andrue
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain


ChrisMK wrote:

Andrue: thanks for that - could you post your failed Plusnet trace when you get a chance please and also your ip address (if it's not static).

 


That is my failed PN trace. My IP address is static.

ChrisMK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

OK, thanks Andrue.

idonno
Rising Star
Posts: 105
Thanks: 10
Registered: 22-10-2015

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Interesting. From a command prompt I can tracert that site (i.e. through Plusnet)

Tracing route to access.ukie01.com [193.240.52.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms     2 ms    <1 ms  TP-SHARE [192.168.0.1]
  2    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag05.plus.net [195.166.128.186]
  3    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.178]
  4    10 ms    20 ms    10 ms  xe-1-2-0.pcl-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.210]
  5    11 ms    11 ms    13 ms  195.99.126.98
  6    11 ms    11 ms    11 ms  core4-te0-0-0-20.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.249.173]
  7    11 ms    11 ms    10 ms  213.137.183.102
8 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 10-1-1.ear2.London2.Level3.net [212.187.139.177] 9 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms ae-228-3604.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.102] 10 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms ae-228-3604.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.102] 11 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net [4.68.110.158] 12 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms 162.97.147.162
13 16 ms 14 ms 15 ms 193.240.52.40 Trace complete.

 

However when I use a browser I too cannot connect. However doing a tracert using the 'who.is' tools has even their routing to the website failing at the last entry (should be #18 going by my CMD tracert).

traceroute to access.ukie01.com (193.240.52.40), 20 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 ip-10-0-0-14.ec2.internal (10.0.0.14) 0.329 ms
2 216.182.224.230 (216.182.224.230) 1.411 ms
3 100.64.13.193 (100.64.13.193) 18.143 ms
4 100.64.1.166 (100.64.1.166) 1.249 ms
5 100.65.3.32 (100.65.3.32) 14.369 ms
6 100.66.0.166 (100.66.0.166) 12.379 ms
7 100.66.3.66 (100.66.3.66) 53.429 ms
8 100.66.7.103 (100.66.7.103) 17.101 ms
9 100.66.4.157 (100.66.4.157) 15.343 ms
10 100.65.8.225 (100.65.8.225) 0.776 ms
11 205.251.244.220 (205.251.244.220) 1.679 ms
12 54.239.111.84 (54.239.111.84) 71.696 ms
13 54.239.109.93 (54.239.109.93) 1.669 ms
14 dca-edge-20.inet.qwest.net (67.133.224.193) 1.479 ms
15 dcp-brdr-04.inet.qwest.net (67.14.28.18) 2.907 ms
16 t9-4-10G.ar2.DCA3.gblx.net (64.208.110.29) 3.052 ms
17 162.97.147.162 (162.97.147.162) 76.496 ms
18 *

 Have you contacted the site itself? Seems like a local issue

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,999
Thanks: 780
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain


idonno wrote:
However doing a tracert using the 'who.is' tools has even their routing to the website failing at the last entry (should be #18 going by my CMD tracert).
traceroute to access.ukie01.com (193.240.52.40), 20 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 ip-10-0-0-14.ec2.internal (10.0.0.14) 0.329 ms
2 216.182.224.230 (216.182.224.230) 1.411 ms
3 100.64.13.193 (100.64.13.193) 18.143 ms
4 100.64.1.166 (100.64.1.166) 1.249 ms
5 100.65.3.32 (100.65.3.32) 14.369 ms
6 100.66.0.166 (100.66.0.166) 12.379 ms
7 100.66.3.66 (100.66.3.66) 53.429 ms
8 100.66.7.103 (100.66.7.103) 17.101 ms
9 100.66.4.157 (100.66.4.157) 15.343 ms
10 100.65.8.225 (100.65.8.225) 0.776 ms
11 205.251.244.220 (205.251.244.220) 1.679 ms
12 54.239.111.84 (54.239.111.84) 71.696 ms
13 54.239.109.93 (54.239.109.93) 1.669 ms
14 dca-edge-20.inet.qwest.net (67.133.224.193) 1.479 ms
15 dcp-brdr-04.inet.qwest.net (67.14.28.18) 2.907 ms
16 t9-4-10G.ar2.DCA3.gblx.net (64.208.110.29) 3.052 ms
17 162.97.147.162 (162.97.147.162) 76.496 ms
18 *

 Have you contacted the site itself? Seems like a local issue


I suspect that's because who.is is using UDP rather than ICMP. The same is evident if I try tracing from a *nix box on my network (and as mentioned earlier, I can access the site):

Windows:

 

Tracing route to access.ukie01.com [193.240.52.40]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     4 ms     4 ms     4 ms  home.gateway [192.168.1.254]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4    10 ms     9 ms    10 ms  172.17.7.237
  5    13 ms    12 ms    14 ms  172.17.11.230
  6    13 ms    13 ms    14 ms  be2.psb-ir01.plus.net [195.166.129.180]
  7    14 ms    13 ms    14 ms  195.99.125.134
  8    13 ms    14 ms    12 ms  195.99.127.70
  9    13 ms    12 ms    12 ms  213.137.183.98
 10    14 ms    13 ms    14 ms  10-1-1.ear2.London2.Level3.net [212.187.139.177]
 11    18 ms    12 ms    14 ms  ae-118-3504.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.86]
 12    14 ms    14 ms    13 ms  ae-118-3504.edge3.London15.Level3.net [4.69.167.86]
 13    15 ms    14 ms    13 ms  gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net [4.68.110.158]
 14    15 ms    14 ms    15 ms  162.97.147.162
 15    15 ms    16 ms    14 ms  193.240.52.40

Trace complete.

Linux:

 

 

traceroute to access.ukie01.com (193.240.52.40), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254)  6.912 ms  6.549 ms  6.309 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  172.17.7.237 (172.17.7.237)  15.601 ms  15.379 ms  15.157 ms
 5  172.17.11.230 (172.17.11.230)  20.520 ms  20.296 ms  22.780 ms
 6  be2.psb-ir01.plus.net (195.166.129.180)  22.551 ms  14.372 ms  14.006 ms
 7  195.99.125.134 (195.99.125.134)  13.772 ms  17.553 ms core1-BE1.southbank.uk                 core.bt.net (195.99.125.130)  17.111 ms
 8  peer5-hu0-11-0-1.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net (195.99.127.5)  16.833 ms  18.739 m                 s 195.99.127.52 (195.99.127.52)  20.266 ms
 9  t2c4-et-3-3-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net (166.49.211.246)  20.058 ms t2c4-et-3-1-0-                 0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net (166.49.211.244)  19.848 ms t2c4-et-8-1-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.ne                 t (166.49.211.248)  19.604 ms
10  5-2-1.ear2.London15.Level3.net (212.187.173.89)  19.383 ms  20.748 ms  20.52                 4 ms
11  ae-228-3604.edge3.London15.Level3.net (4.69.167.102)  21.933 ms ae-226-3602.                 edge3.London15.Level3.net (4.69.167.94)  17.385 ms  15.044 ms
12  ae-225-3601.edge3.London15.Level3.net (4.69.167.90)  16.676 ms ae-226-3602.e                 dge3.London15.Level3.net (4.69.167.94)  14.462 ms ae-228-3604.edge3.London15.Lev                 el3.net (4.69.167.102)  28.452 ms
13  gblx-level3-50g.London15.Level3.net (4.68.110.158)  28.111 ms  27.885 ms  27                 .671 ms
14  162.97.147.162 (162.97.147.162)  27.452 ms  27.153 ms  26.904 ms
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *

It seems those having problems are going through the old Plusnet LNS's/gateways, rather than the new dedicated network. I'll see if I can try from the L2TP network and replicate the issue...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵