cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot connect to specific domain

kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Cannot connect to specific domain

Cannot connect to vodafone.co.uk for last few days. Isitdownrightnow.com reports no problems
This affects every device currently connected to my router
I've changed to PlusNet's DNS server (- I usually use OpenDNS) , flushed windows DNS cache, checked for blocks on netgear parental controls and on router itself and tried to use Vodafone IP address (85.205.252.161), restarted modem/router............ all to no avail.
Is it just me? or plusnet?
Anyone reading this can you try on your PN connection and report back...........Ta
36 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,934
Thanks: 1,740
Fixes: 131
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Works ok for me....as does the IP.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Thanks...................must be me .....very odd! Cry
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Just swopped to the PN supplied router and same problem ..............on all devices in network , on all browsers.............. Roll eyes
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,622
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Can you carry out a traceroute?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Yep --just tried that .............getting continual  "request timed out"
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,622
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Can you copy and paste the results?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain


C:\Users\Ken>tracert vodafone.co.uk
Tracing route to vodafone.co.uk [85.205.252.161]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    6 ms    5 ms    5 ms  lo0.11.Central11.ptw-bng02.plus.net [195.166.1
.204]
  3    7 ms    5 ms    6 ms  irb.11.PTW-CR02.plus.net [84.93.249.18]
  4    6 ms    6 ms    5 ms  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
  5    7 ms    7 ms    7 ms  ldngw1.arcor-ip.net [195.66.224.209]
  6    20 ms    19 ms    19 ms  85.205.0.205
  7    19 ms    19 ms    19 ms  85.205.0.205
  8    18 ms    17 ms    17 ms  47.73.192.146
  9    *        *        *    Request timed out.
10    *        *        *    Request timed out.
11    *        *        *    Request timed out.
12    *        *        *    Request timed out.
13    *        *        *    Request timed out.
14    *        *        *    Request timed out.
15    *        *        *    Request timed out.
16    *        *        *    Request timed out.
17    *        *        *    Request timed out.
18    *        *        *    Request timed out.
19    *        *        *    Request timed out.
20    *        *        *    Request timed out.
21    *        *        *    Request timed out.
22    *        *        *    Request timed out.
23    *        *        *    Request timed out.
24    *        *        *    Request timed out.
25    *        *        *    Request timed out.
26    *        *        *    Request timed out.
27    *        *        *    Request timed out.
28    *        *        *    Request timed out.
29    *        *        *    Request timed out.
30    *        *        *    Request timed out.
Trace complete.
C:\Users\Ken>
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,622
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

I can access it fine and my traceroute stops at the same place.
It's unlikely to be us as we'd see more reports of it.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

OK Thanks for your help...................Just started to be able to connect to some sub-domains.....eg    forum.vodafone.co.uk and support .vodafone.co.uk.....although slow and incomplete and main domain still times out.
We'll see how it goes
acarneiro
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: 20-03-2012

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Funny you should mention that.
I've been unable to access the National Lottery website for years on PN. Absolutely fine on any other connection. This includes my mobile phone: if I try connecting over my PN line with WiFi it fails, but as soon as I turn WiFi off it works fine.
PN also claim nothing wrong but clearly there is a fault that nobody can identify.
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Well I've still got no further ........same problem 5 days in .
This will cause big problems where everyone in the house uses vodafone as their mobile provider
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Just noticed that I now seem to have a static ip address(......which I did not ask for - Is this now standard for Unlimited Fibre Extra?)
Wondering if this was removed...........would it make adifference?
kdhuk
Grafter
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-12-2011

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

OK Just had the static ip address removed...............success Cheesy
It's just possible that vodafone had blocked us due to postings placed on one of their forums deriding their dodgy service Huh
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,622
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Cannot connect to specific domain

Interesting I haven't seen that happen before but glad to hear it's been sorted.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team