Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't ping / tracert my static ip address

paulcarter
Hooked

Can't ping / tracert my static ip address

Hi,

I'm new to plus.net and have purchased a static ip address because I host a couple of small websites.

Unfortunately, although my broadband is working (and correctly configured with the right ip address, using DHCP on the router), when outside my network I can't reach it. 

The relevant parts of a tracert are:

5      3 ms 3 ms 3 ms ge-1-41.core-r-1.lon1.adaptplc.com [62.140.208.5]
6      4 ms 4 ms 3 ms te9-2.core-r-1.lon2.adaptplc.com [62.140.195.186]
7      3 ms 3 ms 4 ms te-9-1.core-l-1.lon2.adaptplc.com [62.140.218.201]
8      3 ms 3 ms 2 ms te-6-1.metro2.gls2.adapt.com [62.140.208.150]
9      5 ms 3 ms 3 ms linx-gw1.plus.net [195.66.224.164]
10    4 ms 3 ms 3 ms link3-central10.pcl-ag02.plus.net [84.93.249.37]

11     * * * Request timed out.
12     * * * Request timed out.

Any idea why this might be happening. It appears to be getting "lost" somewhere in the plus.net network.

There's been plenty of time for the address to propogate etc. (it's been at least 5 days since the ip address was configured)

thanks

Paul

24 REPLIES 24
SpendLessTime
Hero
Fixes: 86

Re: Can't ping / tracert my static ip address

If you are using The Plusnet supplied Hub One router, then external pings are disabled and cannot be turned on.

Ex - Plusnet Customer (2009 - 2023) now with BT
paulcarter
Hooked

Ok, that explains why ping doesn't work (although - quite frankly - it's a bit rubbish that the router doesn't allow them to be turned on!).  Presuambly that's also why tracert doesn't work.

However, it doesn't explain why I can't access my websites or ssh or ftp into my network (all the relevant ports are open) - which is the real problem.  I assumed that an inability to ping was a symptom of the problem rather than a "feature".