cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get started

Miklav
Hooked

Can't get started

Hello, I'm new to Plusnet and have just started a contract for fibre. Previously I had standard broadband from Origin (not recommended!).

I received the confirmation emails saying I'm good to go but when I plug in the Hub One I can't get internet access and after initializing the front light just stays solid orange (no red "b"). After going through the usual basic tech support questions (both over the phone and online chat) I'm no further forward. So at this stage I have no internet and the issue has apparently been escalated (I have an open question/issue being tracked).

While not an IT expert, I'm reasonably tech savy. I tried plugging in my old router (works on ADSL and VDSL) and when it synchs to the exchange it shows that DSL modulation of ITU G.992.5(ADSL2PLUS) and line speed of 10,359kpbs, even when I try to force VDSL. I was of the understanding that the modulation for my fibre line would be VDSL and the line speed somewhat higher. Can anyone confirm whether that's the case? I'm keen to try and move things along a bit in case there is an issue with the line (so far one tech support has tried sending out a new router which I imagine will take a few days).

Thanks.
9 REPLIES 9
Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

Re: Can't get started

Welcome to the forum.

Firstly did you receive the emails today? If so it could be tomorrow before you are up and running. Plusnet put out their Emails on the day of the changeover, often before the work is done. Other considerations: