cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can lines improve?

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Can lines improve?

I'm in the north and the Global Speed tester as always connected to Sheffield server for tests but last week it started to select London giving the same speed results, well slightly higher if anything nothing to shout about.
This morning is still London but speeds have gone up over 2 Mbs, so can lines improve?
I can't recall anyone reporting here speeds suddenly going up always speed drops.
:-)
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Can lines improve?

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Can lines improve?

I know there are 2 types of BT Cabinet/Modem and I thought only one make was getting that and I know I have the make that wasn't.
Assuming I'm wrong is there any reporting link that will confirm please?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
AshPowell
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎28-05-2015

Re: Can lines improve?

2Mb on Speedtest could be the server youre downloading from.. some I've even had a 10Mb difference.. You can select server manually rather than auto to test this.
Your IP profile could have also been raised if your line has been in good condition over previous.. or G.INP as npr said.
There's a post on kitz website on how to find out your cabinet type.. you enter your postcode or something and it gives you all the ones in your area, you find the one on your road and it tells you the type.. ie broadcom/eci. I'll link you up after work when I find it
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Can lines improve?

From what I recall IP Profile reported on the BT line tester is higher than it was.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,807
Thanks: 821
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Can lines improve?

You may have also had a change of gateway. This alone can increase/decrease speed by a large amount especially if you speed test at peak hour (8pm-11pm). I've lost 40Mbps on some gateways at 8pm compared to a 9am test!
You can find out which gateway you are currently on at http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Can lines improve?

Quote from: dnpark38
I know there are 2 types of BT Cabinet/Modem and I thought only one make was getting that.

There's no reports of ECI cabinets getting G.INP yet.
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: Can lines improve?

@AshPowell
People aren't always connected to the obvious cabinet, and most don't have one on their road Smiley.
The best check is the BT Wholesale speed estimator, using the phone number, which gives the (phone) cabinet number on the line above the estimate. If there isn't a number it generally means it's an EO line.
For this purpose the Address checker can be dodgy, and the Postcode checker downright unsafe to use.  (A postcode can be served by several cabinets and only one of them is reported). FTTC cabinets are not numbered but are close to their PCP. Normally within 50 metres.
This page has pictures on the Huawei and ECI cabinets, (128s are actually 96s), but doesn't include the newish combo cabinets being used to convert EO lines in some places - particularly BDUK areas.
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Can lines improve?

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Can lines improve?

Keeping up
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png