cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use my own router?

mariotr87
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-07-2014

Can I use my own router?

Hi,
I'm aware of the fact that you can always disable routing features via telnet on the plusnet device, but given that we also need BT's VDSL modem, this would add up to 3 devices for a "simple" home broadband access.
Would it be possible to not use the plusnet modem at all, and connect my own wireless router to the BT one?
The answer is probably no, but I wanted to double check just in case...
Mario.
8 REPLIES
rodtrotter
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎01-11-2011

Re: Can I use my own router?

yes you can use your own router with no problems
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Can I use my own router?

You can use anything that can connect over PPPoE (which is what the OpenReach modem presents to the Plusnet supplied router).
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Can I use my own router?

You can even use a combo router/modem if you buy one, but you will need to keep the BT modem if a fault has to be reported as BT won't accept 3rd party combo fibre modem/routers during a fault visit and blame your equipment
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
mariotr87
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-07-2014

Re: Can I use my own router?

Thanks everyone!
I just tried my airport extreme and it worked indeed! That's great news, it's a lot better than having to enable bridge mode via telnet Smiley
Cheers,
Mario.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,125
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎14-08-2007

Re: Can I use my own router?

Wow - that airport is a VERY expensive router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Can I use my own router?

but it's got an apple logo on it, thus the price is justified by those of a certain type.
mariotr87
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-07-2014

Re: Can I use my own router?

It's expensive indeed, but I didn't really buy it for its routing capabilities, but rather for storage and backups (it's got a 2TB HDD builtin). It obviously also makes an excellent wifi ac router.
It's also very Apple friendly in terms of interacting with other devices. For instance it can wake up a sleeping mac when attempting a connection to your mac at home from the outside.
Anyway, if you have a couple of Apple devices and you are going to use all of its features the price is more than justified. As a standalone router it makes no sense.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,125
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎14-08-2007

Re: Can I use my own router?

Ah - ok
Built in NAS drive does make it better VFM.