cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use Netgear WN1000RP extender with new plusnet router

FIXED
Highlighted
sailingval
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-12-2019

Can I use Netgear WN1000RP extender with new plusnet router

About to get fibre BB and will need to install the new Plusnet supplied router. Can I use Netgear WN1000RP extender with new Plusnet router. If so how do I get them to talk to each other as I no longer have the instructions for the extender plug.

Or I am better getting a new extender and if so which is the best. It's not a large house (1970s) but wifi needs to extend to lounge and my upstairs office. Plusnet route is not strong enough by itself.

3 REPLIES 3
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,900
Thanks: 1,594
Fixes: 100
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Can I use Netgear WN1000RP extender with new plusnet router

Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,778
Thanks: 1,660
Fixes: 105
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Can I use Netgear WN1000RP extender with new plusnet router

Fix

@sailingval  Welcome to the forum.

Yes you can use it. Start by resetting it by switching it on and once it has settled push a paperclip or similar in the reset hole in the bottom. Keep the switch closed for about 15 seconds. Then set it up again from scratch. The instructions are here. https://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/WN1000RP/WN1000RP_IG_22Nov2013.pdf

sailingval
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-12-2019

Re: Can I use Netgear WN1000RP extender with new plusnet router

Thanks, this fixed it and saved me some money.