cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I go faster?

thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Can I go faster?

I'm sure that my FTTC Line used to be faster than the approx 29mpbs it is now. Are there any tweaks that can be applied to see if line noise will allow higher speeds? My router is reporting 92db which sounds pretty good to me....
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Can I go faster?

If, as you indicate, you are using a VDSL capable router can you provide the full stats (note that the noise margin is probably shown in tenths of a dB)
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

You're right about the 0.1db - but surely mine can't be as bad as 9.2?!
Am currently trying to get the full line stats, but the Vigor 2850 I'm using seems not to have the "vdsl" command that I need to get it. Hopefully I'll get the low down soon enough... Thanks for the speedy response!
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

Link Status Showtime
Firmware Version 1414c3
Basic Status Upstream Downstream Unit
VDSL Profile 17a
Actual Data Rate 8495 29986 Kb/s
SNR 91 77 0.1dB
Advance Status Upstream Downstream Unit
Actual delay 8 16 ms
Actual INP 40 80 0.1 symbols
Actual INP 40 80 0.1 symbols
15M CV 0 0 counter
1Day CV 0 0 counter
15M FEC 0 1320 counter
1Day FEC 1388 37294 counter
Total FEC 138084 1467413 counter
Previous Data Rate 0 0 Kbps
Attainable Rate 13744 34282 Kbps
Electrical Length 150 150 0.1 dB
SNR Margin 90 90 (US0,--) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin 92 77 (US1,DS1) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin 91 77 (US2,DS2) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin N/A 77 (US3,DS3) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin N/A N/A (US4,DS4) 0.1 dB
15M Elapsed time 714 714 secs
15M FECS 0 2 counter
15M ES 0 0 counter
15M SES 0 0 counter
15M LOSS 0 0 counter
15M UAS 0 0 counter
1Day Elapsed time 48414 48414 secs
1Day FECS 46 169 counter
1Day ES 0 0 counter
1Day SES 0 0 counter
1Day LOSS 0 0 counter
1Day UAS 0 0 counter
Total FECS 4849 4800 counter
Total ES 415 4 counter
Total SES 0 0 counter
Total LOSS 0 0 counter
Total UAS 581401 144 counter

These bits look particularly interesting to me...
Advance Status Upstream Downstream Unit
Actual delay 8 16 ms
Actual INP 40 80 0.1 symbols
Actual INP 40 80 0.1 symbols
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Can I go faster?

The default is 6dB but from what I can see the Vigor 2850 doesn't support G.INP and this is probably the reason for the high noise margin
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

Thanks.
I suppose I should have a go using the Plusnet modem and see if that helps. It's just that I recall a few years back that the Plusnet engineers were able to tweak things and that perhaps various delays are imposed by the DLM (whatever that is!) in order to improve stability at the expense of all-out speed. I was thinking that maybe it would be worth another look at tuning.
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

To be honest, the 2850 is otherwise a somewhat over-specced device for me.
What integrated vdsl + wifi routers are recommended? Presumably there's an FAQ about this somewhere, although perhaps commercial sensibilities and an appearance of impartiality are an issue there ;-)
Just had a look around. That Asus one seems popular, but pricey. Might give the Billion 6300nx a go as I think it does all I want...
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,187
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Can I go faster?

There is a list here: http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html
I think the Billion and perhaps the Zyxel ones are quite well liked.
Plusnet will have to supply their own integrated device from some time next year, once Openreach stop supplying the modems.
Plusnet are not able to tweak anything set by the DLM on FTTC, nor can any other ISP. Unfortunately, FTTC speeds do tend to decrease over time, as more people switch to FTTC on your cabinet, the amount of crosstalk increases (the signal in one pair of wires interferes with the signals in other wires next to them), and there's not much that can be done about that at present. In the future, if/when vectoring is enabled, that should substantially reduce the crosstalk issue.
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

Cheers. That lists suggests that the Billion uses a BCM chipset - wonder if that mean Broadcom? I tend to find that Apple gear plays better with Broadcom, although I've got an Airport now, so wifi shouldn't be an issue...
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Can I go faster?

It is Broadcom and I am very happy with the 8800NL
In my case the introduction of G.INP resulted in a small but significant increase in sync speed
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

So I wonder what would improve my speed more*? Perhaps that 150 means I'm just too far from the cabinet to ever get much above 30mbps.
* Of course it may be that my line conditions are such that G.INP would make more difference here. What is your sync speed?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,187
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Can I go faster?

The electrical length is also in 0.1 dB units, it's probably similar to attenuation.
Do you happen to know what kind of cabinet you are connected to? If you're on an ECI cabinet, G.INP isn't available yet.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Can I go faster?

These are my stats and I am about 800 metres from the cab
    Downstream       Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  21.3 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not available on VDSL2
Connection speed (kbps): 47723 9462
SNR margin (dB):        6.4 5.7
Power (dBm):            12.5 5.0
Interleave depth:        8   1
INP:                      49.00 0
G.INP:                  Enabled
thewinelake
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2015

Re: Can I go faster?

Quote from: ejs
Do you happen to know what kind of cabinet you are connected to? If you're on an ECI cabinet, G.INP isn't available yet.

No - how can I tell?!
lenny
Grafter
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎04-05-2015

Re: Can I go faster?