cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre

gooner77
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 22-09-2009

Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre

I have borrowed an ASUS RT-N66Ufrom a friend with aview to buying it.

 

We had a PlusnetHubOne and had no end of issues with it. I have reverted to my previous Netgear router supplied by Plusnet and everything is fine. I would like a newer router with a bit more oomph and dual band which is why I bought the Asus

 

However I have had issues setting it up for internet. Its not accepting my plusnet account details and I'm not sure which connection type I should be selecting is it PPOE ?

 

Any advice would be much appreciated

5 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,542
Thanks: 1,271
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre

this may help https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Asus-RT-N66U-connection-problems/m-p/1399609/highlight...

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
bmc
Pro
Posts: 578
Thanks: 100
Fixes: 5
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre

PlusNet have always been happy for customers to use 3rd party hardware. They have a web page giving the details required to connect.

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/broadband-connection-settings/

 

Brian

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre

@gooner77

The RT in the model name means that the device is a router, it does not have a modem built in. The Plusnet Hub One does have a modem built in.

So you either get the DSL-N66U (the DSL means it has a modem built in) or buy a VDSL2 modem to use with the RT-N66U or still use the Hub One but connect the Asus as a WiFi access point to it.

gooner77
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 22-09-2009

Re: Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre

Forgot to mention I already have a modem. Thanks for the advice everyone

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Buying a new router for my Plusnet Fibre