cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband cuts out

deadhead02
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-11-2017

Broadband cuts out

My broadband cuts out several times daily for a few minutes. it restores itself whether or not I run any diagnostics. Should I accept this or can anything be done?

My speeds tonight have varied from 19.94 to 25.14 download & 1.79 to 1.85 upload

I started my investigation as my phone frequently doesn't do wi fi calling and I had a long discussion with mobile provider who is tending to blame my internet provider - can this be connected?

I use boosters as router has be to upstairs as that is where BT line enters house

 

 

 

 

7 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Broadband cuts out

Hi there, 


We're not seeing any connection drops recorded so it would be worth ruling out WiFi as a possible cause as your next step. 

 

The best way to do that is to connect using a (LAN) wired connection to the router if that's a possibility for you. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband cuts out

what router are you using?

might be worth using routerstatshub if it's compatible and that way you can see what's going on if you have a PC you can leave running

deadhead02
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-11-2017

Re: Broadband cuts out

My router is whatever PlusNet sent me

 

What is routerstatshub?

deadhead02
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-11-2017

Re: Broadband cuts out

Due to router being upstairs I cannot do a wired connection.

 

I think the problem could be wifi - so how can it be fixed?

bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband cuts out

if it's a hub one, one of the white/pink things

then you can look at stats on it's config pages which will show for example when the wan is going down/up

look at the event log tab and then choose wan from dropdown

btw if it is the hub one you have it is know for having iffy wifi strength

the software i mentioned screen scrapes this data and shows in a graphical form, so you can see snr/connection speed etc

 

RSHub-NoiseMargin-20171103-150808.jpg

 

http://www.vwlowen.co.uk/RouterStatsHub/routerstatshub.htm

 

deadhead02
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 02-11-2017

Re: Broadband cuts out

How do I find config? Plus net say no droppage here so its wi fi. I am not understanding that broadband is ok but WiFi is not
bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 885
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband cuts out

if you are using the plusnet hub one directly to the socket, ie in vdsl mode

 

then open up 192.168.1.254

click on the troubleshooting main tab

then click on the helpdesk sub tab, you'll need to enter the admin password

the  you can see how long the router has been connected eg 

5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 19:04:34

or click on the event log sub tab, change the drop down to WAN

and you'll see the connects/disconnects

eg

03:38:52, 06 Nov. (1002072.070000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=58267Kbps, Up Rate=11091Kbps; 

...

03:36:46, 06 Nov. (1001945.540000) PTM over DSL is down after 3931 minutes uptime
03:36:46, 06 Nov. (1001945.540000) PPPoE is down after 3930 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN Ethernet 7 -​ Down)]

 

btw you can select WIFI and see you devices connects/disconnects