cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Billion BiPAC 8800NL

adagio
Grafter
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-04-2008

Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Just ordered a Billion BiPAC 8800NL - any issues with setting up for PlusNet?
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

I did have a problem but soon got some help from this site!
See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,138405.msg1219179.html#msg1219179
Others here have found it working OK straight out of the box so try that first!
Geoff,
York.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

I used this which I think came from a post on here and I had no problems
mlmclaren
Grafter
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎04-12-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Quote from: NedLudd
I did have a problem but soon got some help from this site!
See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,138405.msg1219179.html#msg1219179
Others here have found it working OK straight out of the box so try that first!

I think Billion added settings for Plusnet too its latest firmware!
adagio
Grafter
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-04-2008

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Thank you all for taking the trouble to reply. Hoping for delivery in the next hour or so Smiley
CBR600
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Just ordered mine.
Does anyone know if you need to leave 30 minutes in between switching off the BTOR modem and switching on the Billion ?
Thx
Highlighted
Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,327
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Edit.. my bad just realised Swapping for a all in one so yeah I would do a 30 minute wait just in case.  
mlmclaren
Grafter
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎04-12-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

The 8800NL has built in modem so I;m assuming the OP was for changing the modem for the AiO!
CBR600
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

thanks  Cool
adagio
Grafter
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-04-2008

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Arrived yesterday evening. Setup this morning trivially easy - only had to tell it PTM (VDSL) and enter username and password and connected  Smiley
After 3 weeks of very low upload speeds (~2Mbps) despite OR visit and tests showing line fault it has synched at 58547 down and 18999 up.
Thinkbroadband speed test http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/143998835411247525046.png
Best figures I have ever seen in nearly 3 years of FTTC. Keeping my fingers crossed that problem was OR Modem
mlmclaren
Grafter
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎04-12-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Looks good and for all we know the connection may improve some more yet Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Nice one!  Wink
Geoff,
York.
ajbrown1965
Grafter
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎27-02-2009

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Had one for several months now, absolutely no problems.
CBR600
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2015

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL

Connected my new billion up last night.
disconnected ppp then powered off the router waited a minute then the modem.
Left it for over an hour then connected the billion.
Downstream connection has jumped from 12Mbps to 17Mbps
Upstream no change Sad
Is there anything that can be done at the plusnet end to help my upstream ?
Does anyone know of any tweaks on the billion for more speed ?
Thanks
ps so my current line speed is now greater than the estimated
Phone exchange:
MEARE HEATH
Estimated line speed:
16Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2015-07-25 12:39:50
Current line speed:
17.4 Mb