cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

muttyhc1
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎30-05-2015

Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

Hi all,
Recently got Plusnet last week and I am running an 8800NL,
It seems to get a lot of errors on the line at the moment  but I am still in the phase of the line becoming stable.
Are there any other options worth considering as I can still return this Billion to Amazon.
Thanks.
8 REPLIES
Marksfish
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 441
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

I've been using mine for about 4 months now. Very stable, uptime currently 12 days, but it does seem to reboot every 14 days or so. I don't need lots of functionality, but I get good speeds and have a streaming webcam live 24/7 with no issues.
Mark
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,622
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

I've got the 8800AXL, which is essentially the same router but with Gig-E networking and wireless AC.
Uptime: 32 days 12 hours 39 min 11 sec
I'm very happy with it. It cost about £130-£140 but I believe worth it for a stable connection.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

8800NL is rock solid for me!
A bit fiddly to set up though!
Geoff,
York.
muttyhc1
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎30-05-2015

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

Thank you all.
Any ideas on settings I should look at?
My errors seem very high.
My current situation is:
7h 53 minute uptime (had to reboot this morning as it had hung/froze)
Sync 42940 downstream // 12653 upstream
Errors on xDSL part are,
ES 350
SES 11
UAS 66
It was in the 100 of thousands this morning.
Thanks.
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

Maybe post something on the Billion forums - a guy works for them and is very helpful.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

At the moment you don't know if you have a faulty line or the router isn't performing well...
Try using the BTOR modem for a while and seeing if you have the same problems.  You should be able to do this fairly easily by changing the WAN type on the Billion router (or using the PN router if you have it).
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

The answer is to compare it to another device (which you can get the stats ) on your line, ideally an hg612.
My experience is the 8800nl is very stable for holding a DSL sync in both error rates and uptime, my hg612 had slightly better error rates (still within 10% tho) but synced at a lower speed.  The broadcom hardware and driver on the 8800nl is newer than the hg612.
The rest of the device I did also consider stable until a few days ago my 8800nl stopped accepting lan traffic with approx 110 days uptime.  Plusnet confirmed it was still in sync tho and I confirmed my side as well with the dsl light lit. (is in bridge mode so issue possibly will not occur in router mode).
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎29-01-2009

Re: Billion 8800NL - reliable for PlusNet fibre line?

Rock solid here.
With the old-style DLM, it would not trigger DLM intervention, and would get about 80 ES per day but not FECs. With new-style (G.INP retransmission), I get some FECs, but zero ES.
In comparison with my HG612 modem, which I only did before G.INP was deployed to the Huawei cabinets, I found the 8800NL gave a very slightly higher error rate (the HG612 was more like 60-70 ES/day), but had a much lower level of bitswaps.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.