cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Banded ?

FIXED
Andyroo
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎18-02-2018

Banded ?

Hi

Does the IP Profile shown in the screen grab below indicate that my line has been banded? Cheers - Andy

 
BT Test DL.PNG

5 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Banded ?

On it's own it doesn't.

Full router stats would be useful.

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Andyroo
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎18-02-2018

Re: Banded ?

Hi Browni

Thanks for the reply.

Router stats:

Stats recorded 28 Apr 2018 19:10:24

DSLAM type / SW version: BDCM:0xa48c (164.140) / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware: AnnexA version - A2pvI042j1.d26h
DSL mode: VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status: Showtime
Uptime: 15 hours 52 min 34 sec
Resyncs: 1 (since 27 Apr 2018 00:29:49)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB): 18.2 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not monitored
Connection speed (kbps): 65056 15729
SNR margin (dB): 5.1 6.4
Power (dBm): 13.3 7.6
Interleave depth: 8 1
INP: 50.00 0
G.INP: Enabled Not enabled
Vectoring status: 5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)

RSCorr/RS (%): 0.0643 0.0974
RSUnCorr/RS (%): 0.0000 0.0000
ES/hour: 0.89 12.3

 

My connection was down from 18th to 24th this month and during a 4 hour visit from BT my connection was resynched at least 40 times and there were probably 20 - 30 further resynchs over the period during my checks and conversations with PN.

My line re-synched about 3 AM this morning when the SNR dropped from 6 to 5db (it was 3 db prior to the fault). 

KBD checks posted by PN during fault diagnosis showed:

Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

Regards - Andy

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,515
Thanks: 3,067
Fixes: 482
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Banded ?

Fix

Hi Andy.

Doesn't look like your line is banded.

Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

Testing your line is showing your router in sync at 61mbps, so the IP profile of 56.39mbps is about right.

Your estimates are between 53mbps to 74mbps so it looks like your connection is performing within expectations.

 

Cheers.

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Andyroo
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎18-02-2018

Re: Banded ?

Great!

Thanks Anoush for the conclusive answer. I queried because something seemed to change yesterday. After the resynch in the early hours for the 6 to 5 db change BitMeter was showing a higher throughput than I'd ever had (even when previously at 3db) but the top of the graph was very 'ragged'. I was out for a few hours and when I returned the throughput had dropped slightly and the top of the graph was a smooth straight line - that caused me to look into whether I'd been banded and the IP Profile bit in the BT test lead me to believe I might of been.

One positive outcome from last week's problem is that the BT man fitted the latest 5C master socket and swapped the port in the local cabinet, something he did during this process (probably remaking connections) seems to have improved my broadband and the phone line which is now clearer. On the BB side the throughput is now the same as it used to be when I was on 3db and SNR used to drop about 2db when the phone was off-hook now it hardly changes. Hopefully the throughput might improve again if/when DLM reduces me to 3db again. Mind you, 56kbps is probably more than I'll never need. Smiley 

Thank you again - Andy Thumbs Up

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,515
Thanks: 3,067
Fixes: 482
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Banded ?

No problems at all Andy, I'm glad to hear you're back up and running.

 

Mind you, 56kbps is probably more than I'll never need. Smiley

I remember those days of dial-up, where you couldn't use the phone at the same time as broadband too.

I'm not sure I could go back to those days, but I do like reminiscing. Grin

 

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team