cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad performance on gaming server

FuzzyLogik
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎22-06-2016

Bad performance on gaming server

Hi

 

I'm not sure why but I've recently started getting really bad gaming performance (stutter etc) on particular servers that used to be fine.

 

For example:

 

WinMTR statistics

Host % Sent Recv Best Avrg Wrst Last
dsldevice.lan 0 35 35 1 1 2 1
No response from host 100 35 0 0 0 0 0
141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk 71 34 10 8 8 10 8
140.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk 0 34 34 8 9 11 9
195.99.125.142 0 34 34 8 9 11 9
peer8-et-0-0-5.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net 0 34 34 8 10 29 9
5.226.136.50 0 34 34 9 11 53 9
No response from host 100 34 0 0 0 0 0
ae1.rt1-cr.ldn.as25369.net 0 34 34 9 10 18 10
ae7.31-cs0-cr.ldn.as25369.net 0 34 34 24 40 154 35
185.16.86.55 0 34 34 8 9 11 10

 

Is there anything I can try?

 

- Wired Connection to Hub (1 metre)

- Openreach master socket (no extensions)

 

Thanks in advance

6 REPLIES 6
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,238
Thanks: 4,427
Fixes: 720
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Bad performance on gaming server

Hi there.

Our tests aren't showing any issues with the broadband signal coming into your router and to my eye those WinMTR stats look fine. Which games do you see latency problems on and do you have problems on more than one game?

Are you also using any powerline adapters or switches, or your PC plugged directly into the router using an ethernet cable?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
FuzzyLogik
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎22-06-2016

Re: Bad performance on gaming server

Hi

 

PC is plugged into router directly.  Router is next to Master Socket.

 

That IP address is the DayZ server I mainly play on - other servers seem fine and my friends aren't having any issues so I can't understand why I would be.

 

I don't notice any issues with other games.

 

I never used to have any issues with that specific server - but maybe it's throwing a wobbly.  But why is it just for me?

 

This node in the route seems a bit odd, huge fluctuation in the Ping:

 

ae7.31-cs0-cr.ldn.as25369.net 0 34 34 24 40 154 35

 

I checked the BT Wholesale site and ran all the tests and diagnostics and everything seemed fine.

 

What other tests can I run to identify if I'm getting packet loss or other issues on that specific server?

 

Thanks

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,238
Thanks: 4,427
Fixes: 720
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Bad performance on gaming server

Thanks for getting back to us.

To be honest it sounds like the issue is just simply down to the DayZ server. Do they have any other servers you can try? It may also be worth contacting their support to see if there's anything they're aware of or can suggest.

If you want to run more tests on a specific server the only other thing I can think of is doing a traceroute using the command prompt i.e. tracert <the server name>

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,713
Thanks: 702
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Bad performance on gaming server

185.16.86.55 0 34 34 8 9 11 10

 

 

From this line, there is no packet loss (all 34 sent packets were received) and the end-to-end ping is varying between 8-11ms (which is great), intermediate hops will often show increased ping responses as many devices have responses to this type of request as a low priority task or even disabled entirely.

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
FuzzyLogik
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎22-06-2016

Re: Bad performance on gaming server

Ok thanks for looking into it.

 

Cheers

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Bad performance on gaming server

No worries @FuzzyLogik

 

Give us a shout if we can do anything else. 

 

All the best, 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team