cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BTW speed test.

FIXED
Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

BTW speed test.

Is there a problem with the BTW speed test as it seams like the website is down when I try.
20 REPLIES 20
TeeGee
Pro
Posts: 202
Thanks: 113
Registered: ‎24-02-2009

Re: BTW speed test.

Not working for me either. Try the one at thinkbroadband.com. Usually accurate and reliable.

Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

Re: BTW speed test.

Thanks @TeeGee,
I’m trying to see if my line was banded as it’s slower then my old provider on the same noise margin and think broadband doesn't show the profile but it’s a good tool for checking your speed.
It’s good to know it’s not just me having problems with BTW.
TeeGee
Pro
Posts: 202
Thanks: 113
Registered: ‎24-02-2009

Re: BTW speed test.

You will find more info here: https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/

BUT "this is not available at present" so BT sites generally!

I am sure one of the true experts will be along shortly with more recommendations.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,855
Thanks: 2,702
Fixes: 390
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: BTW speed test.

Ok for me and the 'Further Diagnostics' button has made a welcome return.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 73.0.1 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

Re: BTW speed test.

Interesting as all I get is page not found.
Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

Re: BTW speed test.

It’s working now via the BTW website and not the google search.😁
Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

Re: BTW speed test.

And as I suspected my line is on a low ip profile so I don’t think I got the DLM reset when my line was swapped to PN 😞
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,855
Thanks: 2,702
Fixes: 390
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: BTW speed test.

Fix

https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ works but http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ doesn't.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 73.0.1 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 849
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BTW speed test.

Hi @Kossack2003 There's no artificial restrictions on your line as per the profile "Downstream: 0.128M-80M with Interleaving (Low). Upstream: 0.128M-20M with no error protection"

Testing your line is showing your router in sync at 39mbps within the speed estimates of your line between 35mbps and 49mbps. What speed are you getting when you run a speed test?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 849
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BTW speed test.

I've read your post from today on your other thread again and I can see you've said your IP profile is showing as 38mbps, it's normal for this to sit just below the sync speed. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

Re: BTW speed test.

Thanks for having a look @Gandalf,
I’m getting between 32-36 hardwired from the PC to the router.
If it’s on a open profile that’s a good sign I was just worried that putting in the HH6 the speed was dropping and made the DLM to band the line.
I’m on a ECI cabinet so I can’t see it creeping up much more then that.
Thank you for your time and commitment 👍
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 849
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BTW speed test.

Thanks for getting back to me @Kossack2003 

No problem fingers crossed your speeds go in the upwards direction, and sorry for not responding back sooner, been a pretty busy day for me!

Always happy to help though whenever and in any way I can so let me know how it goes and if there's anything else you'd need help with Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Kossack2003
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎31-12-2019

Re: BTW speed test.

Evening @Gandalf.
Sorry to bother you again but I was messaged last week on the 22nd saying my GEA test was showing this,
0.128M-40M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
And they have put a request for Openreach to put me on 0.128M-80M by the 24th but I’m not sure this has happened as I’ve seen no change.
Is there there any chance you could be so kind and check for me please.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 849
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: BTW speed test.

Hi @Kossack2003 no problem, I've looked into this for you and the slow profile that the adviser saw on the 22nd seemed to have been a red herring, because the timestamp on that profile is the 9th. When I checked and posted above on the 16th it was "Downstream: 0.128M-80M with Interleaving (Low). Upstream: 0.128M-20M with no error protection"

The adviser definitely completed the test on the 22nd but upon occasion the testing system can be a bit slow to update the profile. The system I have access to for want of a better word, is a bit special and shows live data as of the day before.

Looks like the DLM reset the adviser arranged did go through and all it did was update the profile on the main testing system likely because it was already correct on the backend.

Sorry for the run-around you've had and unfortunately there isn't anything artificially restricting your speeds. Sad

[edit]

Btw that's not to say our normal tests aren't live data, it's just the profile on the test being a bit slow to update.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team