cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT home hub 5 type B

jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

BT home hub 5 type B

Looking for the right settings for one of these as i am getting one delivered shortly if anyone knows. Smiley
I am sure i saw something in a thread on here about settings. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
24 REPLIES
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Found what i was looking for. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Who all uses the BT home hub 5 on PN,what,s your thoughts on it. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

your signature URL doesn't work.
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Strange,it works everywhere else & worked here until i had a glitch with my connection a couple of days ago,hmmm Shocked
Sorted Grin thanks for that.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

i'm not on a plusnet connection just now, so it's nothing to do with plusnet.
it's a standard 404 error.
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Yep strange,but sorted,cheers.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jamesanstee
Grafter
Posts: 480
Thanks: 5
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Im currently using a BT Home Hub Type B been using it for over 6 months i actually find it performs much better than the Type  A i used to have where it would frequently disconnect where as the Type B has been rock solid sync rate has been much better only think i had noticed with the 2.4GHZ wireless band is that it caused slight interference with my logitech wireless keyboard but other than that the HH Type B is a fairly decent all in one modem/router.
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Thanks for that jamesanstee,after reading a lot about the type A & B i think B is the better one to choose. Smiley
I found one on ebay,got it for £30 + £3.30 postage,very pleased with that. Cheesy
I would not pay £100 for the new hub that PN are selling. Grin Shocked
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

I use the BT HH5A and find it to be a very decent modem/router. I have had no disconnection issues, the wi-fi coverage is very good, it has gigabit ethernet ports and works with a separate modem if you want.
Configuration wise it doesn't have as many options as some of the higher end offerings but I find it a good bit of equipment. For example, it won't respond to internet pings, so you can't run a BQM (although if there is another device on your network that does respond to pings, you can use that). I don't think you can change the DNS on it (though I haven't tried), and you can't gain remote access to the router setup.
I don't find any of these things a problem which is why I recommend it.
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

I think the HH5B uses a Broadcom modem chip whilst the HH5A uses a Lantiq modem chip. I think everything else is functionally the same.
Huawei cabinets I believe use Broadcom modems whilst ECI cabinets use Lantiq modems. They are all compatible however and don't need to be matched, although some people prefer matching to their cabinet type. I have read some forum posts stating that where both types were tested, the Broadcom performed better on a Huawei cabinet. But I have also seen forum posts stating that Lantiq performed better on a Huawei cabinet.
So take from that what you will Wink
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

Great stuff jafreer Smiley Grin
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

My home hub 5 arrived today & i have set it up & running fine. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

I had read mixed reviews about the HH5 before I took the plunge. Most of the reviews praised the wi-fi coverage but then the reviews divided into those who loved it and those who hated it.
I wanted something with better wi-fi coverage to replace the TG582n. When I looked at the features of the HH5 based on the price I could get one from Ebay, I decided to go for it as it was a lot cheaper than most of the other combined modem/routers with dual band wi-fi and gigabit ethernet ports.
Have been running it for around 6 months with no issues at all, was a good purchase for me.
You have probably already done this, but switch off smart wi-fi and give the 5GHz wi-fi a different SSID to the 2.4GHz wi-fi. I had some wi-fi connectivity issues before doing this. Everything is rock solid now though.
alegeek
Grafter
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-06-2011

Re: BT home hub 5 type B

I currently use the home hub type A, I have had no problems with it since turning off smart setup.
Wifi range is decent and no random reboots either.