cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

PeteGB9
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

Hi

Some Help Please with Purchase the BT Home Hub 6(for my connection)

I join PlusNet around 4 years back now & was supply a Technicolour 582n router

I was switching from standard broadband to fibre

On the day a BT open reach engineer came to replace the faceplate on my master phone socket

He also supplied the BT open reach modem

All was set up & work fine

Then around 6 mths later after viewing a post by North Easterner

I purchase a BT hub 5 Type B & setup all work well

 

Now my question is:

Which version of Bt home Hub 6 I need & how to find out

As the type B seem hard to get

 

My Current setup on the home hub 5 is plug RJ11 cable directly into the master socket then the other end into the Hub 5's DSL port.

 

There is nothing plug into the Red Wan port

 

How do I check which connection I have?

 

FTTC (Fibre to Cabinet)

Or

FTTP (Fibre to Premises)

 

As this would be useful before purchasing the BT home hub 6 router (or can I use any)

 

Thanks

 

In advance

7 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,491
Thanks: 2,847
Fixes: 229
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

Moderator's note:

Split to its own thread in Fibre for better visibility.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,855
Thanks: 803
Fixes: 66
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

I'm not on my proper computer and can't get the link to work so go to the Router forum and read the Smart Hub 6 Variants and Performance.post.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

Or click this link.

PeteGB9
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

Any advice please on which version I might need

azc
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎16-10-2015

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet


 

How do I check which connection I have?

FTTC (Fibre to Cabinet)

Or

FTTP (Fibre to Premises)

 


You will be on FTTC

On PlusNet, FTTP is still classed as a trial & you would know if you had joined it.

The BT Smart Hub 6A should work

 

PeteGB9
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

Thanks azc

your reply as help me a lot

thought it would be the FTTC  Connection

So its the one that as 4 yellow Ethernet sockets

&

not the one that has A red sticker on port 4 So its a Wan Socket

 

Thanks Again

 

 

ckcomputing
Rising Star
Posts: 170
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎28-11-2009

Re: BT Home Hub 6 (Smart Hub) on PlusNet

BT have produced two versions of the hub - the one for FTTP has a red sticker over port 4 (WAN)

 

The hub for FTTC has 4 yellow ports, which is the most common version available.

 

The Smart Hub 6 will work with Plusnet, but you will have to do a hard reset back to factory settings and then input your Plusnet username and password etc..

Professionals are predictable - it's the amateurs that are dangerous!