cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attainable v's Actual

bogga
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-11-2015

Attainable v's Actual

Hi,

 

Is it normal to have a large difference in attainable and actual rate in the download speed on VDSL connections?

 

The Plusnet current line speed gives me 56.2 mb, I guess that's the same as the actual DS rate below?

 

vdsl status

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME
   DS Actual Rate          : 59196000 bps   US Actual Rate       : 19999000 bps
   DS Attainable Rate      : 74127488 bps   US Attainable Rate   : 23333000 bps
   DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode         :        Fast 
   DS Interleave Depth     :     1559       US Interleave Depth  :        1 
   NE Current Attenuation  :       16 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        5  dB
   DS actual PSD           :     7. 2 dB    US actual PSD        :    12. 5  dB
   NE CRC Count            :        5       FE CRC Count         :    37080
   NE ES Count             :        1       FE  ES Count         :    31425
   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        1
   ITU Version[0]          : b5004946       ITU Version[1]       : 544e0000
   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-04-03-00-07   [with Vectoring support] 
   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0 
   Test Mode               : DISABLE 
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
   Far Current Attenuation :       19 dB    Far SNR Margin       :       14  dB
   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004244       CO ITU Version[1]    : 434da459
   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < BDCM >
vdsl status more

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
                  Near End        Far End    Note
 Trellis      :      1               1
 Bitswap      :      1               1
 ReTxEnable   :      0               0
 VirtualNoise :      0               0
 20BitSupport :      0               0
 LatencyPath  :      0               0
 LOS          :      0               0
 LOF          :      0               0
 LPR          :      0               0
 LOM          :      0               0
 SosSuccess   :      0               0
 NCD          :      0               0
 LCD          :      0               0
 FECS         :   909903            1455806 (seconds)
 ES           :      1            31425 (seconds)
 SES          :      0              11 (seconds)
 LOSS         :      0               0 (seconds)
 UAS          :     28            76623 (seconds)
 HECError     :      0               0
 CRC          :      5            37080
 RsCorrection :      0               0
 INP          :      0              25 (symbols)
 InterleaveDelay :      0            1000 (1/100 ms)
 NFEC         :    254              63
 RFEC         :     16              16
 LSYMB        :   5374            19931
 INTLVBLOCK   :    127              63
 AELEM        :      0            ----
3 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,422
Thanks: 503
Fixes: 187
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Attainable v's Actual

I have seen it happen before but it's not a common occurrence.

Your current DLM profile is "0.128M-60M Downstream, Interleaving High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off" which is why your sync speed isn't any higher then what it is and in addition you have a high level of interleaving on your line.

At the moment you're just below your estimate but there might not be much we can do.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
bogga
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-11-2015

Re: Attainable v's Actual

Thank you for checking that info for me. Is the interleaving likely to be caused by something that I can change?

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,422
Thanks: 503
Fixes: 187
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Attainable v's Actual

Interleaving can be added for any number of reasons but it can take time to remove I'm afraid.

You can raise this to our Faults team if you'd like but they may not be able to do anything.

If you want to do this the link is https://faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team