cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

At last - usage meter returns!

grahamt
Rising Star
Posts: 552
Thanks: 10
Registered: 05-04-2008

At last - usage meter returns!

Wow. I thought it would never happen. After a mere four months or so I'm now (from today) seeing some usage on my 'new network' fibre connection. There's a disclaimer with it:

Data usage is no longer fully accurate

We've made some improvements to our network which will improve your connection to some popular high bandwidth services such as YouTube and Netflix. We will no longer be able to track your usage on these services which means the information below will not accurately reflect your usage

 

I wonder what these improvements are, and why usage in some cases can't be measured. But it's good news.

 

8 REPLIES
BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 210
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 5
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

No longer fully accurate? I wonder how PlusNet expect to rely on such a system to bill those on services that have a usage limit?

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,767
Thanks: 1,395
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

Guestimation Smiley

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

Do they bill by Percentile ? like 95% anyway ?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 893
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

Metered customers are not subject to that disclaimer. Customers on Unlimited products see some of their traffic routed around the accounting platform though which is why it's there.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

KevH
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

No such luck with my usage meter. Been broken for months after working for a short while (after being broken for over a year). I'm on fibre extra so it doesn't matter that much but it is useful to know how much the teenagers are using.

flanzm
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-04-2016

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

In which case wouldn't it have made more sense to display the usage for metered customers and remove it completely from unlimited customers.

I guess it might be useful for an unlimited customer to spot something weird happening on their connection but I'm not convinced it's really worth the effort.

grahamt
Rising Star
Posts: 552
Thanks: 10
Registered: 05-04-2008

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

I think it's worth having. If something strange was going on with connections it probably wouldn't be via the services that are not covered by the meter. (GCHQ/NSA/etc. - there's no need to see that as a challenge. We know you can do it if you really want to.)

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,125
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Re: At last - usage meter returns!

Usage meter not working for me...

 

Also "Not entirely accurate" I think if you are excluding high bandwidth services the phase should be "totally inaccurate and not worth the pixels it is printed on"

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 11.41.16.png