cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

markhp
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 01-12-2014

Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

I have just purchased this router so that I have a one-box solution, rather than using the Openreach separate modem.
Does anyone else have this router (or another similar Asus model) that could let me know the manual settings I need to apply to get the unit working correctly with PlusNet fibre.
Many thanks for your help.
21 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,337
Thanks: 481
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

Try this thread
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,134308.0.html just make sure you get the username/password correct.
markhp
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 01-12-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

That's brilliant, many thanks for such a quick reply.  I'll try these settings later from the screenshot on the related post, and I'll let you know if I'm back up and running (although our cabinet is currently running from a battery which has to be changed by Openreach several times a day, so let's hope the connection is live when I get home!)
Many thanks for your help.
redbull2k14
Grafter
Posts: 159
Thanks: 1
Registered: 29-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

if that doesnt work for you i will be able to help i have the same modem
markhp
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 01-12-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

Thanks for your help.  I've adopted the settings exactly as in the 2nd post, but I can't get a connection - the DSL light will flash a number of times (I think usually 8 or 13), then go into a cycle of trying to connect at regular intervals.
I've used the [username]@plusdsl.net as the login name.
If you could shed any further light on this, I'd be really grateful.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

Update the firmware (if you haven't done so already) as there are fair few bugs with the DSL side of the firmware.
markhp
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 01-12-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

The firmware is up-to-date, still no joy.  redbull2k14, would you be able to rescue me with a bit of help please?
Many thanks.
redbull2k14
Grafter
Posts: 159
Thanks: 1
Registered: 29-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

ok, go here http://192.168.1.1/Advanced_WANPort_Content.asp change primary wan to dsl
http://192.168.1.1/Advanced_WAN_Content.asp on this page  wan type > dsl  vdsl wan ptm
add or edit a pvc
PVC Setting
WAN Connection Type PPOE
Enable WAN Yes
Enable NAT Yes
Enable UPnP Yes
802.1q
Enable Yes
VLAN ID 101
WAN IP Setting
Get the WAN IP automatically Yes
WAN DNS Setting
Connect to DNS Server automatically Yes

enter your full username and password
once all the above is changed click ok at bottom
http://192.168.1.1/Advanced_ADSL_Content.asp here change  vdsl profile to 17a the rest u can leave as it is.
i think thats all it is. i dont have the latest firmware so if you have any questions just ask
markhp
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 01-12-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

Thanks very much for your help.  I'm hoping that I can get this sorted this evening - will let you know how I get on.
markhp
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 01-12-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

This is very strange - I adopted the settings you suggested, but the line will still not initialise.  I'm sure my user name and password are correct.  What firmware version are you on currently?
Thanks for all your help.
redbull2k14
Grafter
Posts: 159
Thanks: 1
Registered: 29-01-2014

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

http://192.168.1.1/Main_AdslStatus_Content.asp copy and paste your stats here. im using tthis firmware 3.0.0.4.376_2072 i have not updated to newest firmware.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: 11-12-2013

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

you may be in for some pain, a few tried this device on another site and most attempts to get the device stable seem to end in failure.
professorhat
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 30-01-2015

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

redbull2k14's settings didn't work for me at first - they only worked for me when I set them and then I had to click on the Mac Clone button at the bottom of WAN - Internet Connection page so it sent my MAC address along with it. As soon as I did that, it burst into life.
dansonadz1
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 04-03-2015

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

Sorry to take over this thread but i have also bought this router and for the life of me cannot get it to work. I have followed the settings as described in this thread but to no avail cannot get it to work. Can anyone help please.
mattd
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 18-08-2015

Re: Asus DSL-AC68U Settings

Quote from: dansonadz1
Sorry to take over this thread but i have also bought this router and for the life of me cannot get it to work. I have followed the settings as described in this thread but to no avail cannot get it to work. Can anyone help please.

I have this router too, running firmware version 3.0.0.4.378_6986.
It cannot connect to the line. The syslog shows "Timeout waiting for PADO packets"
Does anyone have screenshots of their settings which work with this firmware version ?
Edit:
Have established a connection based on the settings in reply #2 on this thread:
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,142495.0.html