cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Appalling Product

keithandrewowen
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Registered: a week ago

Re: Appalling Product

That's a wireless test. There is nothing connected to any of the LAN ports on the router

 

I did notice when I started looking at the event logs that there is data in there from 08 Nov. That's obviously not from anything I've done, so I assumed it was from some testing prior to sending it out, but I was a bit surprised that it hadn't been cleared before being sent to a customer.

 

I have so far updated my previously opened ticket - it's simply too unstable to open a new one. I see that the HelpDesk has updated the ticket with a GEA Test Detail and a Radius screen. They're marked as "INTERNAL" though so I have no idea what that means for my issue

 

00:02:05, 08 Nov. ( 126.350000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:00:36, 08 Nov. STP Alert: Port eth0 leaving blocking state.
00:08:59, 08 Nov. ( 540.510000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:59, 08 Nov. ( 540.510000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.510000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:00:41, 08 Nov. STP Alert: Port eth0 leaving blocking state.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.260000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.260000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 531.260000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.420000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.420000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:49, 08 Nov. ( 530.420000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.050000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.050000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 531.050000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:56, 08 Nov. ( 536.880000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:56, 08 Nov. ( 536.880000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:51, 08 Nov. ( 531.880000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.080000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.080000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 531.080000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.110000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.110000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 531.110000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.320000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.320000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:49, 08 Nov. ( 530.320000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:00:40, 08 Nov. STP Alert: Port eth0 leaving blocking state.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 535.690000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 535.690000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 530.690000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.310000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 536.310000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 531.310000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:56, 08 Nov. ( 537.290000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:56, 08 Nov. ( 537.290000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:51, 08 Nov. ( 532.290000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 535.570000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:55, 08 Nov. ( 535.570000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:50, 08 Nov. ( 530.570000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.310000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
00:08:54, 08 Nov. ( 535.310000) OpenRG is going for reboot by IPC command
00:08:49, 08 Nov. ( 530.310000) OpenRG will go down for reboot in 5 seconds
00:02:05, 08 Nov. ( 126.350000) Reset button pressed. BT Home Hub is going to reboot!
00:01:59, 08 Nov. ( 120.250000) Reset button pressed
00:00:40, 08 Nov. STP Alert: Port eth0 leaving blocking state.
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,634
Thanks: 6,153
Fixes: 1,018
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Appalling Product

Thanks for your post @keithandrewowen 

I'm sorry for the issues with your connection.

I've tested your line tonight and the tests aren't showing the cause for the drops but we can definitely see them. I'd recommend firstly making sure your router's plugged into the test socket as explained here https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/Testing-From-The-Master-Socket/ba-p/1322242 to rule out any issues with the internal wiring of your property.

If you're still having issues, we'd need to arrange another engineer appointment to investigate further but as part of a broadband fault investigation rather than a phone line fault (as we had detected a line fault previously). Please could you reply to the ticket Here with two or three timeslots when you'll be available for another visit?

I've also attached a copy of our testing below if anybody's interested:

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID [redacted]
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 59.5 Mbps
Upstream Speed 6.4 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 902.6
Upstream Rate Assessment Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream traffic detected
Technology VDSL
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
DP Type External
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 5dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2021-04-26T08:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 60.3 Mbps 63.6 Mbps 61.5 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 6.2 Mbps 6.4 Mbps 6.3 Mbps
Up Time 683.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 889.8 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2021-04-28T18:01:31Z 2021-04-28T18:16:31Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 9 0
Errored Seconds 1 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

Looking at the connection logs over the last 7 days things don't look good at all

image16196335684157

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,836
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Appalling Product

@Gandalf Thanks for picking this up - but I can't see any test results, and I'm definitely interested. 😂

Now I can - and the Radius log is 'orrible.

John
keithandrewowen
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Registered: a week ago

Re: Appalling Product

OK I have rebooted the router

marcusk
Grafter
Posts: 71
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎18-03-2013

Re: Appalling Product


@keithandrewowen wrote:

I'm a new Plusnet customer (about 3 weeks) but the service is so bad I'm considering quitting already

Is Plusnet really this bad?


In my experience, yes. Yes it is.

keithandrewowen
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Registered: a week ago

Re: Appalling Product

OK I will try to connect the router to the test socket now

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,634
Thanks: 6,153
Fixes: 1,018
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Appalling Product

@jab1 wrote:

@Gandalf Thanks for picking this up - but I can't see any test results, and I'm definitely interested. ‌‌

Now I can - and the Radius log is 'orrible.

I have to post my response through the Khoros Social Response tool then edit my response direct in forum post to include the test results as copying and pasting the test results into the tool we use makes a big mess of the post. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,836
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Appalling Product

I knew there'd be a reason - and I feared it would involve Khoros.😀

John
keithandrewowen
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Registered: a week ago

Re: Appalling Product

OK I have removed the faceplate from the master socket, connected the router to the test socket via a microfilter, and rebooted the router.

It reconnected (blue light showing steady) and my Google Home devices reconnected, and then the wi-fi dropped almost immediately, although it's back now

RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,733
Thanks: 1,662
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Appalling Product

Referring to @Gandalf s post #32 above;

I've no personal experience of VDSL, but if the estimated line length (902.6m) is to be believed, isn't circa 60Mbps 'particularly good' for that distance?

I've got a couple of friends with line lengths under that who get far less (one gets low 20s, the other about 30 on a good day), although I realise other factors such as aluminium cabling and indirect routes may be at play in their cases.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,836
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Appalling Product

See post #26 @RobPN   - @MisterW  (and I) agree there is something horribly wrong with this connection. Reminds me of a topic (from late last year?), that never got a resolution, despite running for a long time.

John
keithandrewowen
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Registered: a week ago

Re: Appalling Product

Justo to respond to a comment from @jab1 earlier in this thread, I found a really long ethernet cable (my desktop PC is in the back of the house, the router by the front door) and connected the PC via ethernet. Then I ran the BTW performance tests again.

Capture.JPG

This is a significantly better result, obviously, and more like the speed I had expected. However that doesn't seem to explain the constant drops and very low wi-fi connection speeds

RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,733
Thanks: 1,662
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Appalling Product

Yep, I saw that post @jab1 , but if there's something wrong it seems strange that the sync speed is higher than would be expected.  Undecided

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,836
Thanks: 2,318
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Appalling Product

@keithandrewowen So, your wired speed is ( roughly) where we would expect, given your estimated line length, but wireless is still the same?

In which case, I personally would invest £15-£20 in a BT HH6 from that well-known auction site and see if it improves things - it may not, given the Radius reports earlier, but it is a better modem/router anyway, and you won't have lost anything by trying it.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,557
Thanks: 2,454
Fixes: 183
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Appalling Product

I've no personal experience of VDSL, but if the estimated line length (902.6m) is to be believed, isn't circa 60Mbps 'particularly good' for that distance?

It's incredible!

So, your wired speed is ( roughly) where we would expect, given your estimated line length

The wired speed is consistent with the synch speed, however the synch speed is way too high for the line and thus the line is dropping frequently

@Gandalf from the GEA test  0.128M-80M Downstream 5dB

Isnt a 5db target a bit 'odd', wouldnt you expect either 6 or 3 ?

certainly it looks like something is causing the router to try to synch at a higher speed than the line is really capable of...