Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Appalling Product

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Appalling Product

That report seems to suggest to me that there is some problem on the BTOR network, but I'm no telecomms engineer - just someone who has been on the 'net since 56k modem dial-up days. 😉

I don't know if either of them are about, but I'll tag @MisterW and @198kHz -and see if they have any thoughts - they both know more than me!

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

I would say there's still a line fault. As @jab1  says the downstream snr is too low. Also I would have expected  a higher upstream syncbfor a line synching at 60Mb down.

@keithandrewowen what are your estimates from the BT wholesale checker https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/AD

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

keithandrewowen
Grafter

Do you mean the observed speeds?

Observed Speeds VDSL
Max Observed Downstream Speed 60.85
Max Observed Upstream Speed 6.46
Observed Date 2021-04-28

What's confusing me is the wi-fi drops. The broadband connection does also drop a couple of times a day, although currently (at least according to the router itself) the DSL connection has been up for just over 6 hours. But the wi-fi drops maybe every 15-30 minutes. Why would this be?

jab1
Legend

No, Keith - @MisterW meant the whole of the report.

The Wi-Fi drops could be associated with the firmware version you have, which is why I tagged Bob Pullen earlier.

John
keithandrewowen
Grafter

Sorry, I cannot post a screen capture because it times out every time I try to upload

jab1
Legend

That's a pity. You really have a wonky connection somewhere - even on my ADSL connection, much bigger screengrabs load with no problem.

John
keithandrewowen
Grafter

Capture.JPG

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Personal information removed from an attachment a public forum.