cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone able to tweak me? :P

ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Started out with 80Mbps down, looks like my profile's dipped to 30-40 and doesn't solve itself on a resync/reconnect - could I get a tweak? Cheesy Thanks in advance :p
--
LtBrenton
14 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Let me go and have a look, however if it's the sync speed that's dropped it'll need a fault opening to look at.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

So your line looks fine. You're in sync at 80/20 and the profile isn't restricting you at all.
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
The profile on our side is set correctly too.
Can you try a BT speedtest at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ and then do the 'further diagnostics' test after the first results. Let us know the results that shows.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

BTW speedtest gives me about 48 down 20 up, upon running "further diagnostics" I get the following message on any browser I test with:
"Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information. "
With no such results appearing on the page. I'm suspecting that may be down to dodgy web code, however it does render the test rather unhelpful...
ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Also while we're at it, what's the optimal MTU setting for you guys? Ramping my network up to 1492 seems to have gotten me another 10Mbps but it's still nowhere near the 80 it should be...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

I hope you are not doing these tests with a wireless connection!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Of course not, Ethernet all the way baby! Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Could you post the results from http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html please
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Results of availability check:
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

And a nice sreenshot of the test jelv has asked you for above would be good as well http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/speedtest2.html
ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Somewhat erratic speed test:
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

I keep forgetting, tbb have two versions of their speed test, the link I gave runs a different test depending upon whether you are logged in or not. If you use the link 11110_110 gave it will run the other test. That runs a single stream and a multiple (x6) test - a comparison is often revealing.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ltbrenton
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-10-2014

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

Additional test.
catelliott
Grafter
Posts: 242
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-02-2015

Re: Anyone able to tweak me? :P

It's probably going to be best if you raise a broadband fault to us, because it certainly looks like there could be a problem. Just follow this link and one of our faults gus will get that looked at for you:
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/bbfaults/
Smiley