cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I getting a good speed ?

KitFox
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 23-12-2009

Am I getting a good speed ?

So I'm seeing on most things a speed of on avg 3MB/s since getting fibre
Is this a good speed to be getting ?  I'm on the Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra Package
Current stats are as follows using a Billion 8800AXL Router ;
Mode	VDSL2
Traffic Type PTM
Status Up
Link Power State L0
Downstream Upstream
Line Coding (Trellis) On On
SNR Margin (dB) 6.1 15.2
Attenuation (dB) 15.4 0.0
Output Power (dBm) 13.5 7.1
Attainable Rate (Kbps) 88274 31939
Rate (Kbps) 73394 19999
B (# of bytes in Mux Data Frame) 51 237
M (# of Mux Data Frames in an RS codeword) 1 1
T (# of Mux Data Frames in an OH sub-frame) 64 42
R (# of redundancy bytes in the RS codeword) 12 16
S (# of data symbols over which the RS code word spans) 0.0225 0.3781
L (# of bits transmitted in each data symbol) 22712 5374
D (interleaver depth) 1437 1
I (interleaver block size in bytes) 64 127
N (RS codeword size) 64 254
Delay (msec) 8 0
INP (DMT symbol) 3.00 0.00
OH Frames 145701036 52758248
OH Frame Errors 117203 813
RS Words 2939551769 3644536
RS Correctable Errors 6590123 34497
RS Uncorrectable Errors 42762 0
HEC Errors 39236 0
OCD Errors 19 0
LCD Errors 19 0
Total Cells 4015953807 0
Data Cells 1452432115 0
Bit Errors 0 0
Total ES 5659 615
Total SES 188 0
Total UAS 155 145

Sync speed used to be 79950 but since a Kelly Communications van was seen fiddling with the fibre shell which also saw me getting disconnected its gone down a little.  not sure on the policy of DLM on fibre, so havent reset to see if it changes, is it the same as on ADLS lines?
7 REPLIES
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

As you can see, you're syncing at around 74Mbps so 3MBps (approx 24Mbps) is very slow!
What does this page say about your line speed?
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
KitFox
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 23-12-2009

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

Estimated line speed:
    74Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2015-03-04 14:26:12
Current line speed:
    71 Mb
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

That looks fine so you should be getting 70Mbps ish,,,
How are you testing the speed of your connection?  Are you using wireless?  Test using a wired connection...
KitFox
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 23-12-2009

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

Wired connection
downloads in Origin/Steam as well as the ookla speedtest site & BT's own speedtest site are how i'm working out the top speed i'm getting atm all seem to max out between 2.5 to 3 MB/s (thats megabyte)
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

Not good then... 
Can you post the results from the Advanced Test from http://speedtest.btwholesale.com on this thread?  Looks like you will need to report this as a fault (http://faults.plus.net)
KitFox
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 23-12-2009

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

Hmmm or perhaps not, worryingly I just took my home network switch & cabling out of the equation and did a test on my laptop plugged directly into the Router
which performed much better on the ookla test achieving a 68mb/s down speed which is much more than the 25/30 it says on my desktop
This is annoying as all my network kit is gigabit equipment so should be handling the bandwidth no problem,  think i'm going to have to test my switch & cabling first before going further.  Didnt think to test that as its never had issues before Sad Sad
it never rains but it pours, replacing a nice 16 port gigabit switch wont be cheap if it is that causing the slow down  Sad
Many thanks for the replies though & assistance Smiley  much appreciated Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Am I getting a good speed ?

To find the problem you could make a server and a client with iperf if you have 2 pc's available.