cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Wreno
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 02-11-2010

Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Hi,
I work from home and I have 2 laptops which connect to 2 different servers. I have to connect to VPN and for most of the today I lost count of how many times I had to sign in. I did ask a colleague who works from home if he was having similar issues and he was not.
My other system just connect to the internet and I mainly use Microsoft Lync, but for the past couple of weeks the signal has been appalling to the fact where the signal completely drops. None of my colleagues are suffering with any issues which makes me think it must be something wrong at my end.
Can someone point me in the right direction to see what speeds I'm getting because today has been extremely frustrating.
many thanks,
Ed
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

run the BT Speed Test then Further Diagnostics - http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ and report back
Wreno
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 02-11-2010

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Thanks Jim.
my first run was 70.01 download with 22.83 upload
I ran it a few times and now my download is zero and my upload is 15.02.and it's been at zero for the past 3 attempts
The ping latency is between 21 to 27.
This is possibly why I'm losing the signal.
Wreno
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 02-11-2010

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Morning All,
is there a process to have my line checked as I have again struggled with my connection this morning.
Thanks,
Ed
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,897
Thanks: 12
Fixes: 2
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Hi Wreno,
I've enclosed your logs below for your perusal. They all look good with no major issues showing. As you've got healthy speeds, I'd be looking locally first to see if you can see any issues.
Do you use wireless or are you wired? The former could result in drops and this may explain why we aren't seeing them.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14153747739471.png"/>
Tony
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
Wreno
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 02-11-2010

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Hi Tony,
I have a number of devices that use both. The main concern is my work laptops for which I have 2. These are connected via home plugs. For example this morning it has been horrendous. It was like sitting here in the 90's waiting for a dial up connection. I could not do anything. 
The system has now been kicked into life again and I am working fine. It is so intermittent and frustrating. I also use Microsoft Lync and this has become annoying because I am losing the signal when I'm talking to anyone.
Thanks,
Ed
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

When you're having the poor speeds have you tried connecting directly via ethernet rather than the homeplugs?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Wreno
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 02-11-2010

Re: Advice Please on Fibre Speeds

Hi Chris,
when connected directly I still have similar problems, but the issue is intermittent.
I've had fibre installed for 10 months and I have not had any issues until recently. We had a large electrical storm a month or so ago, and the storm took out my telephone line and satellite system. I did log a call, but Plusnet had issues and could not run any checks for me. Fortunately BT were outside of my property and I explained the issue  that I had no phone line, but Internet was working ok. he gave me a new face plate and said this would resolve the problem which it did with the phone line. I'm not sure if it is coincidence, but since changing the face plate this is when I have been having the problems with my internet.