cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

If anyone has any gems of wisdom that might help solve this. I tried to upgrade from Fibre to Fibre Extra 2 weeks ago. 

We have consistently received speeds of 40Mbps down / 10Mbps up on Fibre for several years. The estimate was 41-59Mbps down for Fibre Extra and, importantly for me an increased upload speed.

I didn't ever receive a message saying that the change had been made, and my speeds had remained the same for a few days. I phoned and they said they needed to send an engineer to look. When he arrived he was very confused and said we were on a 55Mbps circuit so it looked like the request to change us onto an 80Mb circuit hadn't been received. He tested the line and was receiving 44Mbps, which fitted his expectation for a 55 Mbps circuit. He replaced the master socket for a bit of fun and left.

I phoned PN and they said I should wait for the new Hub One router to arrive as that would sort it out.

The new router arrived a few days ago and immediately hit 40Mbps down / 10Mbps up. It has been the same since then, showing no sign of increasing.

I phoned PN today and was told that everything was correct and I was just unlucky that my speeds hadn't increased. I don't really believe this. It seems to me that it's likely that the order had never been properly implemented and I was still on the wrong circuit or it was restricted or something else was wrong.

For now, I've reverted back to Fibre, but I would really like to be on Fibre Extra - if anyone has any clever ideas for what I could do (or can tell me that I'm being paranoid), that would be great.

14 REPLIES 14
All Star
Posts: 733
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Hi @greenofashbourn 

 

What does the BT wholesale availability checker report for the expected speeds for the Openreach line to your house?

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

Regards

Richard

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Thanks Richard,
Hopefully you can see that OK. 45.9-65.8 clean and 40.0-63.9 impacted.

image_2020-12-17_192032.png

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,174
Thanks: 2,246
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

@greenofashbourn did you ever get the details from the Helpdesk tab on the Hub one when you were supposedly on Extra ?

My guess is that whilst the PN product changed to extra , the order never got processed  by/to BT and so you were still on a 40/10 or 55/10 profile. Whilst not definitive, a look at the synch speed and snr values on the helpdesk would give a good indication of whether the profile was correct or not

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

I didn't know about that option! I was downgraded at about 6pm, so I don't suppose there's any use looking now?

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Just in case it is helpful (and for my own interest), I had a look.

 

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number: +081441+NQ04409825
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 02:05:59
6. Data rate: 9260 / 43433
7. Maximum data rate: 9406 / 43593
8. Noise margin: 6.1 / 6.1
9. Line attenuation: 26.7 / 19.5
10. Signal attenuation: 26.6 / 18.4
11. Data sent/received: 236.9 MB / 2.8 GB
12. Broadband username: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx@plusdsl.net
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-CNSF
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-CNSF
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: 10:d7:b0:05:93:c2
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,174
Thanks: 2,246
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Well thats definitely not being limited by a 40/10 profile, its being limited by what the line is capable of.

If you were on a 40/10 profile the downstream sync would be 39999. Are you connected to the master socket ? because your synch speeds are lower than the estimates .

Have you tried connecting to the test socket ? 

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Thank you - so maybe it is just me being paranoid after all 😉

The router is connected to the new master socket (5c). I'll try the test socket in a minute.
Thanks.

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

That was quicker than I expected!

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number: +081441+NQ04409825
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 00:01:42
6. Data rate: 9809 / 45056
7. Maximum data rate: 9924 / 45198
8. Noise margin: 6.1 / 6.1
9. Line attenuation: 26.5 / 19.5
10. Signal attenuation: 26.4 / 19.0
11. Data sent/received: 358.9 MB / 4.6 GB
12. Broadband username: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx@plusdsl.net
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: 10:d7:b0:05:93:c2
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,174
Thanks: 2,246
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Not a huge difference which implies your internal wiring isn't the problem assuming all other sockets are actually dead when the master faceplate is removed Your speeds are basically at the lower end of the estimates but they're above the mgals and therefore bt won't accept a speed fault. 

 

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Fair enough. I just found it odd that when on Fibre (with minimum guarantee of 30.9) we were getting 40. I'd therefore assumed that we had a good connection and that the estimates of 41-59 would be at least reasonably accurate (ie. we'd see some sort of increase from the upgrade!).

I shall accept that I was being paranoid - it doesn't help reading the forums which are littered with people whose upgrade wasn't correctly implemented with wrong profiles or orders not being sent to BT.

Thanks very much for your help and advice - really appreciated.

Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Sorry, one thing just occurred to me. It might still be true what the engineer said - that we're on a 55Mbps circuit and therefore 44Mbps is the maximum we could ever hope achieve. So we'd need to be switched over to an 80Mbps circuit, which I assume isn't something PN would request, given that the speed is above the minimum guaranteed speed?

All Star
Posts: 733
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Hmmm, the Openreach line is synching at the bottom end of the speed estimates.
Unfortunatly as it is synching within the estimates I doubt Openreach will improve matters.
It will not matter how the line is provisioned, the speed is being limited by the performance of the Openreach line.
Sorry to say, I think you should dowgrade to the 40/10 fibre package and not spend the extra on Fibre Extra.
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

Thanks @RichardB - appreciate your advice.

Pro
Posts: 1,464
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Aborted attempt to upgrade to Fibre Extra

What the engineer said is utter rubbish being on 55Mb profile wouldn't limit your speed to 44mb that's not how it works all it does is prevent the line from going more than 55Mbp should it be capable of doing so.

I don't know what type of fibre cab your on but if it's a Huawei then leaving things alone for a bit could cause DLM to enable G.INP to increase the speed a little and a little more on top with a 3db profile, sadly if it's ECI then you would be stuck with what you currently have.

as it currently stands Switching to a 80Mb profile wouldn't change anything if 45Mb is all your line is capable of.