cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS RT-AC56U..... now unable to connect to Internet

SmileyBoy

ASUS RT-AC56U..... now unable to connect to Internet

Hi everyone.  I've just got an ASUS RT-AC56U router, but it will not connect to Internet.
I followed the set up wizard using the following....
PPPoE
Enabled wan
Enabled Nat
Enabled UPNP
Connect WAN DNS Auto
MTU 1492
MRU 1492
The network map says there's an internet connection, but I get a BT webpage saying wrong/unauthorised settings.
I'm also using the BT Openreach modem.
Anyone got any ideas, please
10 REPLIES 10
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 316

Re: ASUS RT-AC56U..... now unable to connect to Internet

Do you have a VLAN ID option in the PPP settings? If so, set it to 101.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

SmileyBoy

Thanks, but I'm new to this.  Not sure where that would be.  I've looked at all the settings, but can't find any mention of VLAN or PPP.
pwatson
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

You don't need to worry about VLAN settings as the BT modem sorts that out for you.
Double check that you've entered your Plusnet username and password in the PPPoE setup stage correctly.  If this is definitely correct it may be that PN haven't enabled your account yet.
SmileyBoy

I've checked all that.  We've been with PlusNet over a year now and everything works with their router.
This is what pops up on web page...
You have been connected to this page due to one of the following reasons. You must now shut down your internet browser and internet applications before attempting to reconnect. This may clear the issue immediately, if not then please select the appropriate action from list below.
• Your service provider is currently unable to accept your connection request, please wait and reattempt later or contact your service provider for more information.
Or