cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

gokiwi
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-03-2018

ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

Hi, Have been given the above by my employer (to replace old TP-Link unit), however I cannot get it to connect. I get "link up" but no internet.

 

Does anybody have any clues ? or have got the same unit and have set it up successfully ?

 

Regards

9 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,974
Thanks: 1,002
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

Have you entered your username & password into the new router

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/broadband-connection-settings/

gokiwi
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-03-2018

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

Yup, changed the password, disabled auto router config. I think Plusnet cripple the ability to use 3rd party routers .

The router is logging chap authentication errors , DSL link is up so I can see upstream/downstream speeds so it has to be an authentication issue on the Plusnet side. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,641
Thanks: 298
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

PN don't cripple 3rd part routers, but they don't provide support on them.

If you are getting CHAP errors then it's likely your username or password is wrong.

That said, there are plenty of other options, so I would enable the auto router config back, and see what changes.

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,582
Thanks: 1,267
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

We don't restrict the use of third party routers in any way, so the issue is almost certainly down to local config/settings. You've entered your username in the format <username>@plusdsl.net yes?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

gokiwi
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-03-2018

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

I have entered it correctly and also changed the password twice. The ASUS is running latest firmware.  

 

So here are my settings

Transfer Mode : VDSL WAN (PTM)

WAN Connection Type : PPP0E

IP Version : IPV4

8021Q Enable : Yes

VLAN ID : 101

802.1P : 0

PPP Username : dawxxxxx@plusdsl.net

Password : Same as "My Account" (Passord is all letters)

PPP Authentication : CHAP

Internet Detection : PPP Echo

Then under "DSL Settings"

DSL Modulation : VDSL2

Annex Mode : A

 

Then under VDSL Settings

VDSL Profile : 17a multi mode

Stability Adjustment : Disabled

Rx AGC Gain : Default

UPBO Upstream Power Back Off : Auto

Bitswap : Enable

G.vector (G.993.5) : Enabled

Non Standard G.vector (G.993.5) : Disabled

 

 

Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,011
Thanks: 851
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

You have posted this on the standard broadband board but set it up for fibre. See https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/broadband-connection-settings/ Which is right?

I haven't come across 'Transfer Mode' and Plusnet doesn't give any advice on how that is set. No doubt some-one will know.

 

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,974
Thanks: 1,002
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

Transfer mode is PTM ( packet transfer mode ) for VDSL and ATM ( asynchronous transfer mode ) for ADSL.

It's normally set automatically by the router when you select VDSL or ADSL mode and therefore is often not explicitly visible.

gokiwi
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-03-2018

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

So yes my bad  - posted in the wrong forum !! - Should have been fibre.

Router has now connected after a very protracted numbers of attempts and the evidence all points towards so weird issue in the way PlusNet handle the account logon and maybe caching mac addresses.

To get to a workable state here are the lengths I went too.

1. Changed password again this time to letters and numbers - Did not work

2. Plugged in TP Link router  - Did not work (CHAP authentication issues as per ASUS router)

3. Plugged in original supplied PlusNet router  - Did not work

4. Changed password again and waited over night to try again - Did not work

5. Took both routers to work and connected to our xDSL service , no changes made other than login/password  - Both worked fine

6. Back home plugged original PlusNet router in  - It worked

7. Plugged in ASUS router  - Did not work

8. Cloned PlusNet router mac address to ASUS router - It worked !!!

 

Can now work from home and meet employers security requirements .

 

Thanks to all who contributed , it is appreciated although I still fail to understand why it has to be so complicated and difficult to support , I support 400 plus routers in multivendor mpls meshes and don't have the level of difficulty.

 

Once again thanks all

 

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,360
Thanks: 1,900
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: ASUS DSL-AC55U will not connect

Moderator's note:

Topic moved from 'Broadband' to 'Fibre Broadband'.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)