cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A router/modem upgrade question

FIXED
SuperJc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-07-2016

A router/modem upgrade question

Hello,

 

Could anyone recommend a better all in one solution than the plusnet hub? I bought an asus dsl n55u but it would not connect no matter what I or plusnet sugessted. 

Is the TP Link W9980 any good ? 

any suggestions would be appreciated 

 

thank you

7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

Fix

It wouldn't - that is ADSL only

This thread shows the options http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html

Which one depends to a large extent on why the Hub 1 doesn't meet your requirements

 

SuperJc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-07-2016

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

Hi,

 

Thanks for the info - the tp link one I posted says this -

N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit VDSL2/ADSL2+ Modem Router

do I not want that then?

Reason for the change is the wireless is terrible on the hub.

thanks again

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

It won't refers to the asus dsl n55u

I wasn't commenting on the TP Link just advising the options

SuperJc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-07-2016

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

Ah I see sorry I mis understood. I will stick to whats on the list. I nearly bought a TP link as well. You live and learn

PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

The TD-W9980 is VDSL (as you noted) and is the unit I use for fibre. Cannot really comment on the wireless as I rarely use it (but it works when I do!).

Phil

Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
ProGamerXB1
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 14-07-2016

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

I have the model on the link, WD T9980 and it's perfect...aside from the fact that plusnet can't handle anyone who has Xbox one , other than that you are fine. It's amazingly stable and is all in one. Just make you go into your account on here and get the PPO3 email and password ( it's your plusnet password ) and then you add this to the setup on the new router . No need to use their terrible standard nonsense and you can also get rid of the big ugly modem they give too Smiley
SuperJc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-07-2016

Re: A router/modem upgrade question

Thanks for the info. Once Ive sent this one back I may well replace it with the TP-link. I have the hub at present so already lost the modem part but the wireless is dire. I have never had an xbox one problem with plusnet but I do have the console hardwired into the modem..

 

Thanks again