cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

I doubt its congestion given the time it started, never had this issue before the outage last night. I just got back online now & found its degraded even worst.

 

I'll put the router in wireless mode & connect the ECI modem to see if i get the same issue, to rule out a fault with the TP-Link

 

TBB Graph.JPGBT Test.JPG

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

I have just been checking the details of tests on my ticket #131976606 & the strange thing is tests were carried out during Thursday while i've been experiencing high packet loss & latency, strange why these tests did not pick up these issues on the line?

Furthermore their graph shows that there was indeed a drop at 2am, which would point to a service issue & not the modem losing sync

 

Test.JPGTest 2.JPG

 

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,012
Thanks: 948
Fixes: 388
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

The tests we carry out don't always identify congestion or packet loss.

I'm just seeing what we can do.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Well it appears i have become affected by the issues raised here High packet loss and other DNS issues

At around 10pm (Thurs) i put the router in wifi mode & connected up my old ECI modem, on re-connection it was still a little sluggish following a re-sync however i was still on the 143.159 IP range as before. Overnight packet loss / latency went back to normal until Friday morning where it started to build up again but was only minor. At 3pm there was a disconnection as you can see in the graph where i was then re-connected on the 80.229 ip range

02-09-2016.jpg

 

 

 

 

Having completed a tracert i appear to be on the old network PCL-BNG01 gateway?

C:\Users\Lee>tracert google.co.uk

Tracing route to google.co.uk [216.58.214.227]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms ARCHER_VR2600 [192.168.1.1]
2 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms lo0.12.central12.pcl-bng01.plus.net [195.166.130
.140]
3 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms irb.12.pcl-cr01.plus.net [84.93.249.113]
4 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.7]
5 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
6 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms 72.14.223.32
7 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms 72.14.237.253
8 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms 209.85.250.124
9 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 209.85.253.208
10 23 ms 22 ms 22 ms 74.125.37.102
11 25 ms 23 ms 23 ms 209.85.143.24
12 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms 216.239.57.245
13 38 ms 37 ms 37 ms 66.249.94.183
14 40 ms 39 ms 38 ms bud02s24-in-f227.1e100.net [216.58.214.227]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Lee>

 

Since i now know its not my TP-Link router ill plug it back in so i can see what my line stats are saying as the ECI modem is locked down

 

Update: I have now re-connected my TP-Link VR2600 vdsl router & it appears the disconnection at 3pm Friday was Plusnet issuing me a static IP address, after re-syncing i am still on the same 80.229 ip as before & the tracert shows i am still on the old network (PCL-BNG01 gateway)

 

C:\Users\Lee>tracert google.co.uk

Tracing route to google.co.uk [216.58.214.227]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms ARCHER_VR2600 [192.168.1.1]
2 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms lo0.10.central10.pcl-bng01.plus.net [195.166.130
.138]
3 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms irb.10.PCL-CR01.plus.net [84.93.249.81]
4 13 ms 58 ms 12 ms ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.7]
5 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
6 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms 72.14.223.32
7 13 ms 13 ms 12 ms 72.14.237.253
8 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 72.14.237.138
9 19 ms 19 ms 18 ms 216.239.48.238
10 23 ms 23 ms 22 ms 216.239.54.207
11 25 ms 23 ms 23 ms 209.85.143.24
12 41 ms 40 ms 40 ms 216.239.57.245
13 41 ms 39 ms 41 ms 66.249.94.183
14 40 ms 40 ms 40 ms bud02s24-in-f227.1e100.net [216.58.214.227]

Trace complete.

147286361805007269198.png

 

Modem Stats.JPG

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Update on the last 24 hours since being moved to a static IP, as you can see from my graph packet loss has been kept to a minimum outside of the odd intermittent 1% spike every hour. However its concerning that in just 24 hours my modem stats show over a 1000 error packets on the downstream, a rate far higher than previously, while a bug in the routers firmware may well be playing a part, its sudden increase / rate suggests that the quality of the line is also to blame.

 

TBB Graph.JPGModem Stats.JPG

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Error packets on the downstream are still climbing after 3 days being connected, im at 3000 (1000 pkts a day), i have been in touch with TP-link support who tell me "It's not a bug of the firmware. Upstream and downstream data on this page is related to DSL line quality. This data is in normal condition and not affect using. If it still be concerned, you could contact your provider and do a test on the DSL line."

 

TBB Graph shows some packet loss in the early hours of this morning

TBB Graph.JPGModem.JPG

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

At 9:30am this morning (Thurs, 8th Sept) there was a disconnection for a couple of minutes, not sure why, on the plus side its re-synced back to the higher rate than before & i appear to be getting less error packets. Still on the same static IP

 

Log.JPGTBB Graph.JPGModem Stats.JPG

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Another drop at 8:23pm (Thurs, 9th Sept) & 3:52am (Fri, 10th Sept) with some slight packet loss, it would be helpful if you could pull up a line graph to help me determine if the broadband service was the issue or if it is my routers modem at fault. I never had these frequent disconnections using the TP-Link vr2600 router / modem before Plusnet put me on their new network last week & im currently on the static IP 80.229 so it doesn't appear to solve the issue completely

 

Graph.JPGLog.JPGLog.JPG

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

There was a large amount of packet loss this morning from 8am (Fri 7th Oct), having been stable this past month since i was put on a static IP (which im still on), i wasn't online at the time but checking my router stats it shows i lost internet connection at 9:22am

Update: i just seen the main thread & it appears others were experiencing this too, Bobs reply was this (whatever 'flapping route' is i have no idea)

bobpullen wrote:

Morning guys,

The routing/packet loss issues this morning was due to a flapping route. It will mainly have affected customers who have been migrated to new network and are assigned a static IP.

An incident was raised (ref: 95003) and the problem mitigated around 9.50am. Our engineers are looking into what caused it but it's unrelated to the issues being discussed previously in this thread.

Sorry to those of you affected.

TBB.JPG

 

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

@plusnet Rep > If this issue of high packet loss on the new network during peak hours is now resolved can you remove the static IP i was given as a temporary fix?

 

I'll see how it goes, if there are issues then you can stick me back on static until its fixed, thanks

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

@Chris didn't get a reply yet, as above, thanks

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎29-11-2014

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Still on a static IP, seeing how Plusnet staff are ignoring my request here how do i go about raising a ticket to remove the static IP? I can't find it on the website, it appears to be buried some place & i'd rather not call CS to be put on hold for 30 minutes

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 989
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

In https://www.plus.net/my.html?action=myconnection have you not got this icon:

icon_configurestaticip

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,175
Thanks: 1,444
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check


@shylok wrote:

Still on a static IP, seeing how Plusnet staff are ignoring my request here


Sorry this had been missed. I've made sure that's been removed for you now.

 


@shylok wrote:

I can't find it on the website, it appears to be buried some place & i'd rather not call CS to be put on hold for 30 minutes


As it was added manually (as opposed to being a paid add-on) it needed to be removed manually.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Highlighted
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: 55/10 Max Sync Speed Check

Sorry this thread has been missed, I'm taking a bit of time to look through your account and will reply again shortly.

 

Looks like Harry got there before me.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.