cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2740N Networking

machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

2740N Networking

Good morning Everyone. First time here, so please, be gentle with me as I feel the answer is probably quite simple but I just can't see it .

Fibre installed last week.  Prior to installation I had been enjoying for a few years a wired network consisting of Windows 7 PC, Smart TV, and AV receiver via a Netgear ADSL modem/router. I also used a laptop via the wireless connection. Everything had found each other automatically it seemed and worked perfectly.
After fibre installation and the substitution of this 2740N router, each piece of equipment connects to the internet as before and the speed is very impressive[ I live very close to both a cabinet and exchange]. BUT none of the equipment can now see each other so I can no longer stream music and movies from my PC to the TV or stereo.
It seems to me the router needs intervention to enable networking but I can't see the steps I need to take.
Any help would be very welcome. Thank you
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 2740N Networking

It MIGHT not be the router, similar problem here albeit with different router http://www.ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7434
Quote
Sorry it ended up being stupid windows 7 networking, when I added the new router it had automatically made it a public network therefore blocking that kind of activity, wasn't the router itself causing the problem, gee I hate windows 7 networking and homegroups etc.
IIRC Netgear routers tend to use a 192.168.0.x subnet whereas the 2704N will be using 192.168.1.x. Win 7 will therefore have seen the new router as a different network, worth checking that it hasn't defaulted to a Public one as indicated above.
machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

Re: 2740N Networking

Morning MisterW. Followed your tip and looked at my Lan and devices listed. TV and amp are there with IP addresses of 192.168.1.2 and 192.168.1.4. PC has an IP address of 127.0.0.1
Is this the problem? I'm clueless about this stuff, I'm afraid.
machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

Re: 2740N Networking

BUT when I go to http://192.168.1.254/ it tells me my PC IP address is 192.168.1.1 . They both can't be right?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 2740N Networking

Your PC having an address of 192.168.1.1 sounds correct. Where exactly are you seeing the 127.0.0.1 ?
machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

Re: 2740N Networking

Network & Sharing centre - Media streaming Options  where PC TV & Amp are listed as devices on my LAN
Show Media streaming options and clicking on my PC in the list it gives 192.168.1.1 under troubleshooting info.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,299
Thanks: 1,401
Fixes: 75
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: 2740N Networking

As I understand it a PC has 2 IP addresses.
A local internal one (localhost) 127.0.0.1
A 'public' one which it displays to a network it is connected to 192.168.1.1
192.168.1.1 is the address to be interested in when discussing network issues.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

Re: 2740N Networking

Thanks Strat - that clears up that puzzle.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 2740N Networking

Quote
A local internal one (localhost) 127.0.0.1
True but I'm not sure I would have expected that to show up in Network & Sharing centre - Media streaming Options. TBH I'm not that familiar with Win 7 in a Home environment ( I use Linux at home ) and, of course , the office is in a Domain environment.
Does the Network & Sharing centre show your Network as a 'Home' or a 'public' network ?
machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

Re: 2740N Networking

It says Home network with the little house icon.
Perhaps I should unplug the tv and amp and setup from scratch.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 2740N Networking

That should be ok then.
I suspect that Media Streaming still has some retained knowledge of the 'old' 192.168.0.x network but how you fix that I'm really not sure Sad. It's not something that I've much experience of, I suspect we need someone who's more familiar with Win 7 in the home environment...
machin53
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 15-07-2015

Re: 2740N Networking

Thanks for trying anyway. I've got to take the grandchildren home now so I'll try unplugging later on tonight.