cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

want to use webspace ...

laura
Grafter

want to use webspace ...

hi, I want to set up a one or two page site for family/friends to access, and as PN provide webspace it would be nice to be able to make use of it.  I have no knowledge of scripting, and have researched software that does everything for you via templates.  Would anyone know if I would be able to upload to PlusNet webspace if I use such software, or is PN webspace only for users who can use php etc?  I have already asked a question of PlusNet who pointed me in the direction of their webspace/setup site, but admittedly I have not looked at this yet - I decided to ask my above question here first cos if I can't do it that way I can't do it! Thanks in advance for any advice on this matter. 
8 REPLIES 8
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: want to use webspace ...

You can load very simple web site with no trouble, will send you a PM with mine
Cliff_Jordan
Grafter

The web software that PlusNet mention in their guides is Nvu, which you can down load for free from:-
http://nvudev.com/index.php
Simple to use and you can upload from the program directly to your webspace - no need for any knowledge of code.
Cliff
Denzil
Grafter

Even better, use <a href="http://www.kompozer.net/">Kompozer</a>, which is based on NVU, but with bugs fixed. Also free to download. It is fairly simple to use and even deals with the uploading and editing the site afterwards.
laura
Grafter

Pierre_Pierre, got your pm and will have a looksee - don't worry, won't pass on addy!
Whiffler/Denzil, will certainly look at your recommendations - I love free stuff!
Prod_Man
Grafter

If you love free stuff,
To get stuck in with PHP on the PlusNet setup, you'll require a few tools to make your life easier.
Some might disagree with me here but this is just what I suggest.
Grab yourself some free utilities which will be useful - I assume you're running Windows here.