cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

strangely named PHP file in \public

stuck
Rising Star

strangely named PHP file in \public

In my new CGI space, in the \public folder there is a file with a name made up of a string of random characters.  The name begins and ends as follows:
Y3V..............................=.php
The content of the file starts:
<?php $envVar = array("GATEWAY_INTERFACE","HTTP_ACCEPT","HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING","HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE",...
The date on the file is 22/02/2014, which was the day I first started looking at the new CGI however the time on the file is several hours before I did anything on the platform, which was to upload and begin to set up zenphoto.
What is the purpose of this file, is it something crucial or can it be deleted.
Lest asking such questions reveals my ignorance and indicates I shouldn't be anywhere near a CGI server then I freely confess I am a total novice but I do seem to have got zenphoto working and I am beginning to build a photo gallery so I'm not unteachable.
Thanks,
stuck
8 REPLIES 8
7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17

Re: strangely named PHP file in \public

I seem to recall that phpinfo() won't be available on the new ccgi platform so I would suspect looking at that array of environment variable names that it is supposed to look through the $_SERVER array or something and print ouf the values for new users to see.
As for the file name.. maybe some automated system has gone a bit wonky?
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

That file is mentioned as the script environment on the Control Panel Disk Usage application Setup/Environment tab. If you browse to it you'll find it lists the PHP $_SERVER[…] array values for the keys listed in the $envVar array.
What use users would make of it is a moot point. There are a lot more $_SERVER key/value pairs that users writing code might use.
David
David
avatastic
Grafter