cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

jac2
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2007

register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

Hi,
I am installing a php app (my first) and it won't install because the installer insists that register_globals is off.  I have set .htaccess in the installers dir, but it isn't making any difference.  I am trying to install drupal6.6
I have read a few posts and no-one seems to have confirmed they have been able to set the setting to off.
the installer just won't work with it as it is.
so .htaccess has some conditionals, so I moved the line outside these and it makes no difference.
I am looking at the PAYH trial, but want to get this going first.
TIA
JAC.
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,447
Thanks: 689
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

I suggest you go straight to PAYH - register globals is off on there - also PAYH runs a supported version of PHP - unlike CCGI!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jac2
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2007

Re: register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

Yes, I have just applied to that.  I was hoping to get it up and running on the old service to:
1) get some experience
2) Allow me to tell the wife I haven't spent the whole day in the office with nothing to show for it :-) Cheesy
Thanks
JAC.
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

Because of the way our current CCGI platform is set up, unfortunately you can't change php settings with .htaccess files. You can however change php settings with php.ini files, which I touched on back in May with this article: http://community.plus.net/blog/2008/05/20/cgi-dos-and-donts/
jac2
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 24-09-2007

Re: register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

Ben,
Thanks for the info.  I thought i read on the php.net docs site that you can't set this in php.ini.  I could try again OR I could move onto your new Plesk administered offering, which is in trial.  I registered for the trial and now am back at stage 1, i.e I have a GUI (plesk) and no idea how to do anything.  I can't run telnet against it, so I think I need to ftp the files up there, but no idea how to unzip them, set permissions, edit files etc.
If the future is PAYH then I should really master this.  So any pointers for Drupal on that?
JAC.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,447
Thanks: 689
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

Guidance on how to unpack a tar on PAYH can be found in: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,69399.0.html
(I've asked again why the mods can't make that topic sticky - as you've just proved it needs to be!)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: register_globals php - don't shoot the newbie

Quote from: jac2
...I thought i read on the php.net docs site that you can't set this in php.ini...

You can't set it at runtime (i.e. using ini_set), so you can only set it in php.ini or .htaccess. As our platform doesn't support the .htaccess method then you're left with the php.ini option.
See http://uk.php.net/manual/en/ini.core.php#ini.register-globals and http://uk.php.net/manual/en/ini.php#ini.list for more info.