cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rDNS change

FIXED
bartstope
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎14-08-2007

rDNS change

Hello there, just wondering, what’s the best way to get my rDNS name changed to something more anonymous?

7 REPLIES 7
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,450
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 93
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: rDNS change

Hey there @bartstope 

 

Sorry about the delay in getting back to you. We're super busy at the minute. 

 

I can certainly sort it for you. What do you want it to switch to?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
bartstope
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎14-08-2007

Re: rDNS change

Hello Will, thank you!

 

no problem at all - just a textual representation of the IP, anything annoymous is fine.... I somehow knew, but also forgot that my static ip is my username, which is also my name, only realised last week when we were doing some analysis at work of web traffic to a certain page on our website, and I saw my own name in amongst the btcentral and other names that just look like random gateways

 

thank you again!

 

 

adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,846
Thanks: 874
Fixes: 220
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: rDNS change

Fix

Hi @barstope, I've raised that with our netops guys for you and it should get picked up within the next day or two. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
customer456
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎13-01-2023

Re: rDNS change

I would similarly appreciate a change to my rDNS to something that is not my username.

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,450
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 93
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: rDNS change

Hey there @customer456 do you want it as a static IP or a domain that you own?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
customer456
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎13-01-2023

Re: rDNS change

If the rDNS can just be the ip address then that would be great.

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,876
Thanks: 1,493
Fixes: 478
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: rDNS change

Thanks for confirming @customer456

I've raised this to the relevant team to get this updated for you.

As soon as it's been done I'll let you know 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team