Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new website

andyrpsmith
Dabbler

new website

Just set up my new website:
www.schersmith.co.uk & there is no search engine that can pick up my site.Any ideas?
10 REPLIES 10
scubarew
Grafter

Re: new website

I am by no means an expert but it can take quite some time for search engines to pick up a new website.
Some engines like google provide tools to help you make sure your site is being 'seen' by their search bots:
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/
It's worth making use if them as they are quite useful in understanding how sites are picked up and listed in search results.
Good luck
matt_2k34
Grafter

I am by no means an expert but it can take quite some time for search engines to pick up a new website

Correct. Also the number of links which go to / from other sites, should help it get found. (e.g. this forum is trawled quite alot, and posting the link here may make googles 'bots' go to it, and start indexing Smiley )
Theres lots of ways to optimise results, a quick google of "SEO" will bring up millions of results.
Regards
andyrpsmith
Dabbler

Thanks for this I will look into the suggestions given.
Kind regards
JamesM
Grafter

Smiley
matt_2k34
Grafter

You will find a lot of contradictory information though, so its worth using your nogin...
Like i wouldnt recommend doing what James has done to his Titles. Your page titles should be meaningful, and succinct. However you can add lots of meta words - but be cautious as adding huge paragraph after paragraph of meta keyword can ensure you *LOSE* rankings too (e.g. if it finds your keywords are not relevant)