cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do I set up a secure page on my website?

samgregkt
Grafter

how do I set up a secure page on my website?

I have a small website consisting of twelve pages with hover buttons linking each page. I'd like to add a new page for members only, being password protected. How can I do this. As I'm still a newbie please keep it simple & assume that I know nothing.
Best regards, Mick
60 REPLIES 60
Kelly
Hero
Fixes: 9

Re: how do I set up a secure page on my website?

You might find this useful! 
http://www.freewebmasterhelp.com/tutorials/htaccess/
Kelly Dorset
Ex-Broadband Service Manager
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Reordering and slightly adapting previous posts covering this subject for clarity ...
Quote from: jelv
...  just put the pages you want to be protected in to a sub-directory which you would password protect.

and ...
Quote from: spraxyt
(The procedure for password protecting that folder) is described in the Community Support Library article How to password protect your website. The files you need to upload will become "hidden" when they are renamed so their first character is a dot. To make FileZilla show these you need to go to its Server menu and select (tick) the bottom item that says "Force showing hidden files". You can leave that permanently selected.

David
samgregkt
Grafter

Hi Spraxyt, everything was going fine until I got to stage 3:   
Connect to your webspace and go to the folder you want to password protect, and upload both files.

Use your FTP program to CHMOD htaccess.txt to 744 (File Owner: read, write & execute, group & public: read only).
I'm using Filezilla so where do I find the CHMOD etc. & what is (File Owner: etc).
I've been onto Filezilla & used server/force showing hidden files & then uploaded the two files but I'm a little confused. What do I do next?
spraxyt
Resting Legend