cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

homepages.force9.net websites

nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

homepages.force9.net websites

All,
Is there an issue with homepages.force9.net websites (yes, I know it's an old method of accessing)... It's just that today it no longer seems to work?
The website http://www.king1.force9.co.uk/index.htm works, but not http://homepages.force9.net/king1/?
Cheers,

Nick
51 REPLIES 51
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Both forms of URL work for me for my website, and for yours. However for yours images aren't found and the links go to NTL pages.
David
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Both work fine, though you are addressing them via two significantly different methods.
For example, you supplied two different addresses that will access two different files.
http://www.king1.force9.co.uk/index.htm
Equal to
http://homepages.force9.net/king1/index.htm
http://homepages.force9.net/king1/
Equal to
http://www.king1.force9.co.uk/
You have an index.html as well as index.htm. index.html take priority in search order over index.htm
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Ah - that wasn't the case yesterday, though... I'll remove the index.html file...
Earlier on today, the site wasn't even working - has something been altered today?
Cheers,

Nick
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Other pages within the site, e.g.  http://homepages.force9.net/king1/LiveDates2011.htm do not seem to load?
(Edit: It seems intermittent)
Cheers,

Nick
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

I'm unable to replicate your intermittent issue.
How often do you see the issue?
Is there any gaps between problems?
What exactly do you see, when you see the problem?
The last page you listed works for me.
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

"Not Found
The requested URL /king1/ [which varies] was not found on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Apache Server at homepages.force9.net Port 80"
It's been intermittent all day - regardless of where I've been (three seperate ISP's)...
Cheers,

Nick
dick:quote
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

OK, still not quite there yet.
Between the three locations, is the same machine you bare using?
What browser are you using?
Have you tried an alternate one?
The last URL you pasted, is that copied and pasted direct from the address bar as and when the problem happens?
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

No worries - two different machines, a laptop (Windows XP), and a desktop (Windows 7). Both using Firefox (3.6.13).
Haven't tried using IE yet (version 6.0 is on the laptop - for work purposes, so I don't bother using that if I need to do anything on the internet!), and IE is on the desktop (version 8.0), so I could try that?
As for the URL, I keep trying different random URLs from my webpage - manually typed.
Try http://homepages.force9.net/king1/News.html
"Not Found
The requested URL /king1/News.html was not found on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Apache Server at homepages.force9.net Port 80"
Cheers,

Nick
dick:quote
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Well, the site works in IE8, but not in Firefox (latest version - 3.6.13 - on both desktop and laptop) - lots of 404 Error Pages...
It worked fine on Saturday - what's happened in the meantime?
Cheers,

Nick
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Right,
I can't login to check for you unfortunately, however if you login via FTP with a client that can display hidden files (i.e not Internet Explorer), do you see a file in the "htdocs" directory called ".htaccess"?
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

http://homepages.force9.net/king1/News.html works OK for me using Firefox/3.6.13.
David
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Try doing a CTRL+F5 - it then disappears... It seems fine via IE8... Bizarre...
Oh, no .htaccess file - logging in either via DOS (Command Prompt) or via CuteFTP.
Cheers,

Nick
dick:quote
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

After refreshing the page using Ctrl+F5 it displays OK again for me (still FF 3.6.13).
David
nickking
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎13-02-2011

Re: homepages.force9.net websites

Bizarre - I might sleep on it and see if it's any better in the morning!  Smiley
Cheers,

Nick
dick:quote