cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

Hello,
I'm after some help on what to set my dns settings to get my domain pointing to google sites.
The instructions on google sites say ...

  • Sign in to your domain registrar.

  • Navigate to your DNS Management page. The location and name of this page will vary by host but can generally be found in Domain Management or Advanced Settings.

  • Find the CNAME settings and enter the following as the CNAME value or alias: (your sub domain)

  • Set the CNAME destination to the following address: ghs.google.com

  • Save changes with your domain host


I've found this support page on plusnet help and support ...
http://www.plus.net/support/domains_and_dns/hosting/domain_admin_dns.shtml
Does this mean I create a CNAME record with the following?
Left field: somborneplayers.org.uk
Type: CNAME
Pri: (leave it blank)
Right Field: ghs.google.com.
The plusnet support page also says I need to create an additional A record for every CNAME alias that I make. Is that the case here? What should I put in the A record fields if so?
Any advice would be appreciated Smiley
Alan
6 REPLIES 6
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

You can't create a cname using the root record only. You have to use a sub domain i.e www.somborneplayers.org.uk. If you want somborneplayers.org.uk to point to ghs.google.com this can be done by the use of http redirection but not sure if PN support this.
So you will enter
Left field: www
Type: CNAME
Pri: (leave it blank)
Right Field: ghs.google.com.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

Quote from: giraffeandtiger

The plusnet support page also says I need to create an additional A record for every CNAME alias that I make. Is that the case here? What should I put in the A record fields if so?

An A record have to exist for the CNAME you only have to create an A record if you have created the domain/sub domain. As an A record already exist for ghs.google.com you only need to generate the cname record.
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

Quote
So you will enter
Left field: www
Type: CNAME
Pri: (leave it blank)
Right Field: ghs.google.com.

That worked a treat!  Smiley  I didn't bother with an A record as suggested.
Quote
not sure if PN support this

Looks like they do Smiley

itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

I was referring to PN not supporting http redirection, this differ from cname.
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

Ah - ok  Smiley
The important thing to me is that now when I put  www.somborneplayers.org.uk into the address bar it brings up the page I want.  Thank you for that Smiley
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: help required on dns settings to point my domain at google sites

I just re-read your message and have now realised what you were trying to tell me.  That a root record is the address without the www?
Google have said this about their site mapping anyway
Quote
Mappings are restricted to sub-domain level only like www.example.com, wiki.example.com or support.example.com. We don't support naked domain mapping such as example.com.