cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ftp via plusnet connection only?

grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2007

ftp via plusnet connection only?

Hi
I've just been trying to ftp some stuff up to my web space and I keep getting 'unable to connect'. I believe I'm using the correct details:
ftp.plus.net
Username: [my username - as used with webmail etc.]
Password: [my password- as used with webmail etc.]
I've been trying to reach the ftp server via my work network. Could it be that I should only use my plusnet account to access the ftp server? I know this was the case with (the evil) Orange.
If anyone can advise I'd be grateful.
5 REPLIES 5
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: ftp via plusnet connection only?

You are right - PN connections only
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ftp via plusnet connection only?

Jelv, that is only for ccgi connections. www (ftp.plus.net) can be accessed from any connection.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: ftp via plusnet connection only?

Quote from: Peter
Jelv, that is only for ccgi connections. www (ftp.plus.net) can be accessed from any connection.

I'd always thought it was PN only on both - but I've tried it this evening and got through to www webspace from a non-PN connection so I stand corrected.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2007

Re: ftp via plusnet connection only?

Seems it was down to a problem with my login credentials at PN's end. Chris did 'something' and now all is well. I was even able to upload from my work PC! Thanks to all who responded.
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: ftp via plusnet connection only?

Quote
Chris did 'something'

I refreshed the webspace component, basically rebuilding this part of your account on our side.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.